unlocked iphone no service!! help!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by killavish, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. killavish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #1
    i unlocked my iphone using ziphone. 1.1.4 running. everything works fine except when i put my t-mobile sim in it says no service??? i tried downgrading bootlager and now instead of no service it just has no bars of service so basically the same issue, can anyone help me out? everything else works great
     
  2. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #2
    bump..im stuck?? tried iliberty and during the baseband process it said fail? it said 3.9. 04.04.05?? thankyou for any help
     
  3. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #3
    tried restoring to 1.1.4 and unlocking with ziphone and iliberty but when i put my t-mobile sim in which is an old one but works in blackberry. it gives no bars and then says no service after a couple minutes?? please help me figure this problem out.....
     
  4. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #4
    tried putting different t-mobile and att sim cards in no luck. downloaded the no service update for iliberty. assumes it is automatically patched in. still no luck???????????????????
     
  5. NightLord macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    #5
    Can I ask why you didn't use pwnage tool? It's a lot safer than ZiPhone, which, as far as I can remember, permanently modifies your iphone with no chance of undoing it...
     
  6. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #7
    Upgrade to 2.0.1 unlocked with pwnage tool and see what happens.
     
  7. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #8
    i use windows. the winpwn download freezes midway. any other download sites?
     
  8. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #9
    can i upgrade with windows? if so any links or directions would be appreciated, thankyou
     
  9. cWeems macrumors 6502a

    cWeems

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    FLORIDA, USA
    #10
    try changing the partition size or w/e its called in the last tab... mine kept freezing at 500mb setting, then if i raised it to 551 or so it went through fine..
     
  10. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #11
    got it. trying to build my ipsw...unsure about what options to click for my case? can i just restore from current jailbroken state? thanks
     
  11. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #12
    ok tried restoring a custom winpwn file. got stuck 1015. used ziphone to restore back to unlocked... no service with my t-mobile card but everything else is unlocked??? tried downgrading bootloader, nothing. then tried erasing 3.9 baseland..nothing...i dont know whats going on guys?? please help...my other phone's screen is broken so this iphone is it for me
     
  12. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #13
    turned it off and on ...it flashed searching in the top left corner twice and then went to no bars..flashes no service...wtf
     
  13. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #14
    also just tried winpwn. clicked ipwner. says to wait. ipod does nothing? its in restore mode...
     
  14. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #15
    says wait for reboot. sorry for the multiple posts


    -------------------
    8/18/2008 11:03:29 PM - Unzipping .ipsw file to D:\Documents and Settings\Suresh Narayanan\Application Data\cmw\winpwn\2.0.0.4\ipsw
    8/18/2008 11:03:51 PM - OK
    8/18/2008 11:03:51 PM - Creating ramdisk
    8/18/2008 11:03:52 PM - Padding ramdisk
    8/18/2008 11:03:54 PM - Ramdisk successfully created
    8/18/2008 11:03:54 PM - Sending ramdisk to iPhone.
    8/18/2008 11:03:56 PM - Transfer took 1593.75ms
    8/18/2008 11:03:56 PM - Modifying environment...
    8/18/2008 11:03:56 PM - Starting pwnage
     
  15. Slip Jigs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #16
    It's sorta hard to tell from your posts exactly what you've done so far. First, if the SIMS aren't activated you won't get service - as far as I know, and I don't know for exact certainly, the SIM either has to be a PrePaid or activated contract. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong here.

    This is one of the best guides:
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1572

    Follow it to the letter - the screenshots show you exactly what to check in each step.

    You can also use this guide:
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1572

    Basically the same, excpet it doesn't incude and unlick screenshot. But there are links to download the latest versions of all the files you need. It doesn't matter what state your phone is in now or version, it creates your custom firmware file.
     
  16. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #17
    thanks slip. i restored my phone back to 1.1.4 locked and stock. so im gonna start all over with your directions and hopefully get some t-mobile service. thanks
     
  17. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #18
    it worked!!! t-mobile service! i havent tried the internet cause wi-fi is everywhere here...but works


    now how do i import my sim card contacts? thankyou so much..im so appreciative..i really am
     
  18. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #19
    cydia says there are 5 updates that are needed? should i update? i dont want to mess anything up here on out???
     
  19. Slip Jigs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #20
    Yeah, go ahead and update the Cydia stuff, that won't break anything.

    Not sure about your contact from the SIM card, I don't think iPhone supports that, I could be wrong.

    Don't update via iTunes to 2.0.2 - you'll lose Cydia, but the reports say that you won't lose your unlock.
     
  20. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #21
    ok so everything works great. but which t-mobile internet service do i need to fully use the internet on iphone? i go to areas without wifi alot so ill need it, thanks
     
  21. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #22
    with my firmware, which service do i need to sign up for to get internet on my iphone? just change the settings in network correct? link me if theres more to it please

    5.99 T-MobileWeb ?

    t-Zones Pro 9.99?


    Recommended Service
    BlackBerry Unlimited Add-on
    Add access to BlackBerry's powerful data functionality to a voice rate plan. The BlackBerry Unlimited Add-on includes unlimited BlackBerry Web Client e-mail and Web browsing.? 19.99?


    hot spot for 19.99?
     
  22. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
  23. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #24
    all of these instructions should work with mac. all ibrickr does is makes your iphone accessible to your pc.
    if you are using a mac the equivalent program i beleive is iNdepence or something rather.

    u still need the two files, and they still need to go into the following directories:
    proxy.pac --->"/private/var/root/"
    preferences.list --->"/private/var/root/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/"

    i tried this but in my preference folder i dont have any system config folder or file??? i copied it anyway and it says im not suscribed for the internet??? please help
     
  24. killavish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #25
    ok its been about 12 hours since i signed up for service online. maybe its not activated.

    but when i use the wap.voicestream.com apn and try to load a websight, the page says internal error

    when i try the 2internet.voicestream.com apn, it says i dont have a data plan and cant connect?

    why the difference??
     

Share This Page