Unlocked iPhone & on Vodafone but no camera icon to send picture message

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Spursboy, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. Spursboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #1
    Good evening to you all.

    This evening I received a txt from O2 informing me that my iPhone could be unlocked. I did this , inserted my Vodafone sim , connected to iTunes & within a matter of minutes was unlocked & working fine.

    However , have just noticed that when sending a txt message , the camera icon that's to the left of the text has just vanished & I have no possible means of sending a picture message. Most bizzarre.

    Could anyone shed some light on this. Is there a setting somewhere that I haven't activated. Could send Picture messages no problem via 02.

    Surely when connected via iTunes earlier it would download all settings , & if not why would the camera icon vanish.

    Any help appreciated.

    Regards James
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    It might be that you need to update the MMS settings to correspond with your new carrier. Have you tried ringing Vodafone and asking them?

    Post 25 may help
     
  3. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #3
    I'm just restoring my phone after having it unlocked. Will have to see if I have MMS also.
    Is MMS allowed on your vodafone account? No reason why it shouldn't be

    failing that, install a custom carrier file, go to unlockit.co.nz, follow the instructions, it'll fill in all the internet settings/allow tethering etc. SHould also allow your MMS.
     
  4. Spursboy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #4
    Thanks guys.

    For some reason I assumed that The vodafone mms settings would automatically be there. I guess it figures that they perhaps wouldnt be , but why would the camera icon not be there. Surely this is built into the iPhone software , not network setting dependant.

    I'll be interested in the findings of the above poster & what happends when doing a complete restore.

    Any other vodafone user experiences.

    On side note , what does the TTY On/Off feature in phone settings do. It's currently off & if I switch it on it produces a strange icon next to the battery icon.

    Regards James
     
  5. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #5
    I didn't have the MMS settings when I restored. Went to unlockit.co.nz, installed the carrier file (which gives you a nice vodafone logo :) ) then reboot. MMS and tethering both enabled.

    I've talked to Vodafone about their stance on tethering, they are perfectly happy, just warned me that it'd be easy to break the 500Mb limit.
     
  6. Spursboy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #6
    Many thanks for your findings.

    I'm relatively new to all of this. So if I download the carrier file for MMS , does that mean I'll be restricted to the amount of MMS I send. I obviously realise they come off my allowance , but will I also have other restrictions imposed on me too.

    Or is this just restricted to tethering ? By the way , what is tethering.

    I'm on Vodafone UK

    Regards James
     
  7. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #7
    MMS don't come out of your text allowance, you get charged per MMS (unless you have an MMS bundle?)

    Tethering means you can use your phone's internet connection to get your laptop/computer online.

    the carrier file doesn't have any restrictions, it just contains internet and MMS settings.
     
  8. Spursboy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #8
    Thanks for that.

    You say mms doesn't come off my allowance , however for every picture message I send , 4 txts come off my allowance.

    So by changing my APN , it won't mess up any of my other settings or data allowance.

    Regards James
     
  9. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #9
    That's not what they told me about MMS, that was true for o2, but vodafone told me it's 35p per MMS. I'd call them and double check that.

    The carrier file will only set your APN, username, password, mms gateway etc. No other settings.
     
  10. Spursboy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #10
    Oh I see , yes I will definately be checking with vodafone in the morning with regards to the mms. Many thanks for the warning.

    So is this mms carrier file I can download , much the same as the settings that vodafone would give me to input into my phone if I called them.

    Thanks for all your info.

    Regards James
     
  11. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Yes, basically, every legit carrier has got a carrier bundle on the iPhone. When you insert a different carriers SIM, it will read the settings and populate the fields with the info.

    Vodafone UK isn't a supported carrier for the iPhone. When they are, they will have a carrier bundle installed on the phone, meaning you won't have this problem in the future.

    By downloading the file from unlockit means you are making the phone aware of this carrier. This won't be required when they are a legit carrier

    And the file will have the same settings that Vodafone will tell you to put in.

    I personally prefer to install a custom IPCC file after jailbreaking
     
  12. Spursboy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #12
    Just to say , I downloaded the vodafone UK carrier file for mms from the above site , switched the phone off then back on , however still have no option to send mms.

    All I have is the website icon on my homescreen, which basically takes me to the entire process again I I touch it.

    Suggestions anyone.

    Regards James
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    Are you running 3.0? I was under the impression that tethering doesn't work in 3.1.
     
  14. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #14
    I'm on 3.1.2

    I've had this tethered before (over USB), but I just tried it, the menu vanished when I connected it over bluetooth. Now it wont come back, even after re-applying the ipcc and rebooting...
    Come on apple, we aren't all tied to ATT, let us have tethering!
     

Share This Page