Unlocked iPhone Problems

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mamakate, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. mamakate macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #1
    I have an unlocked iPhone that was 'jail broken' when I got it. Today it froze up and had a picture of the iPod cable leading to the iTunes thing. So I go home from work and plug it up to my computer and it downloads some new hardware that says that my 't mobile' doesn't work with the phone. So. I was wondering if there is any way to take off the new uploaded software.

    And I'm new to this website. A buddy of mine told me that ya'll could give some good advice...

    -Kate
     
  2. aldude macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #2
    Not a lot of detail in your post, but it sounds like you used iTunes to restore your iPhone which replaced the jailbroken software with official Apple software - which doesn't let you use T-mobile SIMs.

    You'll need to re-jailbreak your phone. Lots of info in various places round here. However, if you've got a 3G (not 3GS) a good place to look would be the Dev Team Blog. For a 3GS, look here. I have a 3GS and it worked for me!

    If you post your exact model of iPhone then I'm sure others will post & provide further help. Once you've jailbroken, you'll need to install some software to unlock the phone so it can work with T-mobile again.
     
  3. crunkcrumpet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    #3
    If you could tell us what software is on your iPhone now (Settings -> General -> About), and also what model it is (3G, 3GS, etc) then we can provide more information and get your phone up and running again :)
     
  4. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #4
    Also tell us whether you are on Windows or OS X, and if possible which version you're on.

    (PS I really like the idea of it downloading some new hardware, I wish mine would do that :D)
     
  5. ingkirot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    #5
    have same problem

    i have same problem too :(.. did u get urs fixed? i bought mine unlocked too . it was working good then suddenly it froze up with the ipod cable and itunes. i did the same thing i connected it to pc hoping it will solve the problem but unaccidentally restored it to factory settings and now all the apps on springboard are gone except this emergency call. i called the person i bought this from to but he cant guarantee he will fix it.

    mine is 3gs 32gb , i have it not even 24hrs yet and really new with this iphone thing :(..pls help!
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    As stated, need to know model of phone and firmware at minimum to help

    Also...

    Is your computer for sale ? I want to get a new iPhone this summer and have been looking for a computer that can download new hardware. :rolleyes:

    Sorry Kate, I just couldn't resist. ;)


    (Hardware is the nuts & bolts stuff, firmware or software is the operating system which makes the hardware run)
     

Share This Page