Unlocked iPhone question

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by HJ24, Sep 17, 2017.

  1. HJ24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    So I've had this iPhone 6s that I purchased from Apple.ca (Canada) at full price a couple years ago, I've switched my Canadian carriers without a problem a few times. Now I'm moving to the US and when I went and called the Virgin mobile & Sprint to see if they could activate my SIM card, they asked for the IMIE number and told me my phone was locked and they couldn't do it....Any ideas? Thanks
     
  2. chscag macrumors 68030

    chscag

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #2
    Have you checked with AT&T or T-Mobile yet? Your 6s (if it was unlocked from Apple) should have the capability to be used on GSM networks as well as CDMA. Personally, I avoid anything to do with Sprint. (Virgin Mobile uses the Sprint network) They have the worst customer service that I have ever experienced.
     
  3. HJ24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Yeah I went to Tmobile and they had no problem activating a SIM card for my phone. I wanted to get Virgin or Sprint because they were offering a $1 plan to try out their service
     
  4. chscag macrumors 68030

    chscag

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #4
    Consider yourself lucky that Sprint turned you down. I wouldn't activate anything on Sprint even if it was for free. I've been on T-Mobile for years and have had nothing but great customer service from them.
     
  5. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #5
    The Canadian iPhone doesn't support CDMA which is why it came up as locked according virgin and sprint.
     
  6. TwitchyPuppy macrumors member

    TwitchyPuppy

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    No clue where you got that info but the version that works with these Canadian carriers:
    • Bell
    • Cityfone
    • eastlink
    • Fido
    • Koodo
    • MTS (Canada)
    • PC Mobile
    • Rogers
    • SaskTel
    • Tbaytel
    • Telus
    • Videotron
    • Virgin Mobile

      Also work with these US carriers:
    • Boost Mobile
    • Credo
    • Sprint Wireless
    • T-Mobile USA
    • Verizon Wireless

      As the iPhone 6s sold in Canada is version A1688, which supports both GSM and CDMA.
     
  7. Audit13 macrumors 601

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    I was told by a sprint store that my telus iPhone is sim unlocked but does not support their CDMA network. I just assumed, incorrectly, that the person trying to activate my phone was correct.
     

Share This Page

6 September 17, 2017