unlocked tmobile phone for ATT/VZ

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by metsjetsfan, Dec 31, 2014.

  1. metsjetsfan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #1
    Can you buy the unlocked tmobile phone for use on ATT or VZ, I know the simple answer is yes, but are there any quirks or possible issues to know about when you call or go to the store to have your number moved from one phone to the new unlocked one/

    Many thanks
     
  2. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #2
    You can buy the unlocked TMo phone for ATT, Cricket, Net10, StraightTalk, etc.

    However it will NOT work with Sprint or Verizon.

    Your phone number follows the SIM card. Just move the SIM card over, and so will your phone number.
     
  3. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #3
    AT&T it will work fine, no issues.

    Verizon: It will work, but Verizon will give you a hard time activating a new SIM with it. This is a purely a policy issue however, and not a technical one. You can get around it if you have a Verizon nano SIM that's already activated with he service you want; just pop the SIM into the phone and you're good to go.

    Sprint: Sprint will not activate any phone that is not sold specifically for use on their network, even if it is fully compatible. But I can think of no reason at all why anyone would really want to be on Sprint right now.
     
  4. mattopotamus macrumors G4

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #4
    This. Verizon will only activate a verizon model iphone, but if you have verizon you can pop the SIM in the att/tmobile model.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Correct to what the other 2 said above.
    In short it will work on any gsm carrier in the world and also you can get it to work on verizon.
    It will not work for Sprint.
     
  6. Chatter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Location:
    Uphill from Downtown
    #6
    All above info is correct.
    Just make sure you buy it full price from the Apple store. Then it is unlocked and you dont have to worry about anything. Pop any sim in and you are good to go.
     
  7. AttilaTheHun macrumors 6502a

    AttilaTheHun

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #7
     
  8. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #8
    I've heard that if you have a VZW SIM that is already active, it will work. The phones are technically the same. It is the 5/5c/5s where only the Verizon one will work on Verizon (despite the fact that you can activate them on AT&T/T-Mobile). I believe those models for AT&T/T-Mobile have the CDMA radio permanently turned off which is why they can't be activated on Verizon. Besides the archaic CDMA policy of not activating phones that aren't marked as theirs.

    Now with Sprint, the models are slightly different. They have the same activation policy as Verizon, but they are not loosening up at all on it, claiming technically issues. If they used the same model as the rest of the US, it would work fine.

    So suffice to say, OP, that you would be fine taking a T-Mobile 6 or 6+ to Verizon or AT&T. It should go more smoothly than taking an older iPhone to T-Mobile with the spectrum refarming.
     

Share This Page