Unlocked using Ultrasn0w, don't need it now...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by MoodyM, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. MoodyM macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #1
    I just got a 2nd hand 3GS on iOS 5, locked to O2, so I updated it to the 6.15.0 iPad baseband, then unlocked using Ultrasn0w and put an Orange SIM in it.

    All works fine, but I just got word today from the guy I bought it from to say he had asked O2 to officially unlock it, and he got notification today it had went through.

    So the phone is now officially unlocked, I don't "need" the ultrasn0w unlock. Is there any way to downgrade the baseband/restore to stock ipsw?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Nope, you must always restore to a jailbroken IPSW on that iPhone.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  4. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    Once you put the iPad BB in there, there is not coming back, you are stuck upgrading with custom ipsws as long as that phone works.
     
  5. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #5
    Ok, thanks guys.

    Basically since I unlocked using ultrasn0w, the wifi keeps dropping out, so I want to get "rid" of ultrasn0w.

    Since the phone is officially unlocked now, could I do this by using redsn0w to create a preserved-baseband custom ipsw, then restore to that using owned DFU mode, thereby getting "rid" of ultrasn0w?
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    You can just remove ultrasnow.
    But what you will need to do is create a custom unactivated ipsw and restore to that.
    Let it activate officially using any gsm sim with itunes and you're good.
    Your GPS will still not work though since the ipad bb is still installed.
     
  7. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #7
    How do I ensure the custom ipsw I create us unactivated?

    Also I'm pretty sure the GPS is working? I went into Google maps and it "found" me right down to the blue dot, not a "circle'?
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    There's an option there depending on what JB program you use.
    You can create an activated/hactivated ipsw or one that can be activated officially.
    Glad your GPS still functions, very few cases of people that still have functionality after installing the ipad bb.
     
  9. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #9
    I used redsn0w 0.9.9b6 (Mac) to create the custom NP_BB ipsw, but I don't see an option to choose activated/unactivated, and as I understand it only redsn0w can be used to create iOS5 ipsw's?

    Will the one I created likely be activated or unactivated?

    By restoring to the custom ipsw is my GPS likely to break? Or is it a case of, since mine's works it's one of the few that will always work? Or is there a chance of it breaking every time I restore using a custom ipsw?
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    No once it works your fine.
    You're not installing the iPad bb again, it's already installed.
    Go thru the steps and see if it's listed in any of the settings when creating a jb ipsw if u want it activated or not.
     
  11. labman, Oct 20, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2011

    labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #11
    if your factory unlocked which is what hour saying Just open cydia and uninstall ultrasn0w. easy!
     
  12. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #12
    There is no setting to choose activated or unactivated, I went right through the process.

    As has been suggested, I guess I could just uninstall ultrasn0w?

    Out of interest, why does updating to the iPad BB sometimes kill GPS?

    Thanks for all your help.
     

Share This Page