unlocking 3G

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by trainguy77, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #1
    I will be buying a 3G from a friend for a trip to europe, so it will need to be unlocked.

    Are all 3Gs able to be jail broken and unlocked?

    I read this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=457556
    I get the impression they all can be except OS 3.1.3. However, when it talks about the bootloader it says they have not all been cracked. So which is it? The phone has not been plugged into a computer since August so its not 3.1.3.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Good, if it has not been updated to 3.1.3 you can JB and unlock it.
     
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    Just make sure the baseband is not at 5.12.xx.
    Check Settings/General/About/Modem Firmware

    4.26.xx and 5.11.xx can be unlocked

    Do not update to 3.1.3 (you seem to have this figured out already)
     
  4. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #4
    Is the 5.12.xx from the 3.1.3? As I don't have the phone with me as I have not bought it yet. I will be sure to check though.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Yes, 05.12.01 baseband is from firmware 3.1.3
     
  6. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    Okay, Sounds good thanks a bunch.
     

Share This Page