Unlocking a 3GS (3.1.2)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by RedCloud75013, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. RedCloud75013 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    MD
    #1
    Hey there - I have not found any answer on the forum so here's my question:
    I'm going abroad for 2 weeks, and would like to unlock my 3GS (3.1.2 - JB).
    I found some good tutorials on iClarified however:

    - will swapping my SIM cards cause any kind of data loss (contacts/txt messages/ app specific data?) or is everything in the iphone memory and conserved when replacing my ATT card with another sim?

    - when flying back to the US and putting my ATT card back: do I need to adjust any settings manually?

    - is there a way (on macOS) to backup your iphone (including the cydia apps) to allow a full restore if something goes wrong?

    thanks
     
  2. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #2
    1) The iPhone does not store any data on your SIM.

    2) That depends on whether you've changed any settings while you were abroad. You might want to turn off cellular data, since it can eat up a prepaid SIM pretty quickly. But if you haven't changed anything you won't need to change anything back.

    3) You cannot backup Cydia apps to your computer, but you can buy Pkgbackup from Cydia. It will save a complete list of all Cydia packages you have installed to your Address Book. If you have to restore, you can just sync your contacts, install Pkgbackup, and use Pkgbackup to reinstall all your Cydia apps with one click.
     
  3. RedCloud75013 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    MD
    #3
    Thanks a lot for the quick answer -
     
  4. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #4
    Re question 2, if you want to use 3G data while abroad, for example for loading maps on the go, or if you want to send MMS, you'll need to enter the local provider's APN in the Cellular Data settings.

    When you return you'll have to re-enter the AT&T ones before data will work again.
     
  5. RedCloud75013 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    MD
    #5
    Good to know, thx.
     
  6. leons macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #6
    For some reason, on return from my recent trip abroad (where I used cellular data and changed my APN), resetting the APN on my return DID NOT get data back in the US. I also needed to do a reset to Network Settings (perhaps the foreign SIM made some other changes to my settings).
     
  7. RedCloud75013 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    MD
    #7
    is everything back in order now?
     

Share This Page