Unlocking/activating my 1.1.2 OTB

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Bruce Patterson, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. Bruce Patterson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #1
    I'm in Canada and need to unlock/activate my 1.1.2 iPhone. Could someone walk me through the process? Thanks in advance!

    Can I just pay iphonesimfree.com and have it work? I'm on this version on my iPhone (04.02.13_G), btw.
     
  2. Bruce Patterson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #2
    Okay I jailbroke this sucka now how do I get the phone part to work? Will iphonesimfree.com work at this point? Should I upgrade to 1.1.2?
     
  3. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    for an ootb you can only use turbosim there is no software unlock yet
     
  4. Bruce Patterson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #5
    Where can I get Turbosim?
     
  5. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    i know iphonesimfree i used it on my own iphone but it doesnt work with the new bootloader which is included in your iphone and you can purchase turbo sim on ebay just google it oh and stealth sim and anything other sim is the same thing. Just w/e you dont overpay and dont update to 1.1.3 because apple patched that up.
     
  6. Bruce Patterson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #7
    So this turbo sim thing is like a sim card I pop in and out quickly to fool the iPhone or something?
     
  7. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    no its this like thin piece of paper that you attach to your sim card(fido) or rogers or w/e cellular service you want it with. And it spoofs the phone into thinking its At&t i think. But its pretty neat i think you need to jailbreak if not then even better but its still awesome. Best of all it wont brick your phone since it does nothing to the baseband. But it does not work in 1.1.3 so dont update :D until told to do so.
     
  8. Bruce Patterson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #9
    well since i've already jailbroken/activated my phone this is probably the only route to get it unlocked as a phone?
     
  9. Bruce Patterson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #10
    Does anyone have one they want to sell me now? Anyone in Canada?
     
  10. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #11
    yup or until somebody finds how to downgrade the bootloader peacefully and leading to a simple unlock.
     
  11. Bruce Patterson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
  12. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13
    well apple is really stubborn when it comes to unlocking hell i have att but i want my phone to be unlocked in europe. To get it jailbreaked and crap i have to downgrade now and stuff which is just a pain. Well but it can be done at least :D
     
  13. Bruce Patterson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #14
    but not unlocked, which is my problem. Can you downgrade the baseband?
     
  14. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #15
    technically yes but you have to downgrade the bootloader and to do that you need to open your iphone and do testpoints and.....its just easier with turbosim trust me
     
  15. Bruce Patterson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #16
    What about virginizing it to 1.1.1 and using anysim? Would that work?
     
  16. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #17
    http://iphone.unlock.no/
    just read some stuff here it should clear your questions. The bootloader does not let any sort of unlocking.
     
  17. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #18
    sure you could 'virginize' to 1.1.1 but anySIM still won't work.

    your baseband will remain at the 1.1.3 baseband of 04.03.13_G

    listen to these people when they tell you, to use that phone on another network other than a legit network, at this time, turboSIM is the ONLY way.

    they are not lying to you
     
  18. Bruce Patterson thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #19
    LOL, I never assumed for a second that someone was lying, it's just that you can get such varied responses from some people...I just wanted to be sure I was getting a consistent answer and trying to find the fastest/easiest solution, that's all! :)
     
  19. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #20
    For consistency's sake, I can tell you that I used one of the SIM solutions with my OOB 1.1.2 phone and it worked like a charm. By all account's they're all pretty much the same, TurboSIM, StealthSIM, etc.

    My only advice is to make sure your supplier actually has them on hand when you order. I waited ages for a StealthSIM which never arrived, and ended up getting impatient and ordering a TurobSIM which arrived the next day.

    I haven't upgraded to 1.1.3, but apparently you can do that too if you use the jailbreak method.
     
  20. uriel1987 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #21
    I just bought an iphone version 1.1.2 and would like to know how can i unlock it?
    i heard something about opening the iphone...can it break the iphone? what should i do?
    Is unlocking with the sim free a good way to unlock or should I unlock by opening the iphone(hardware) or maybe wait for a software release?
     
  21. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #22
    To unlock with SIMfree you need to downgrade the bootloader and open the phone to do it.

    You can look at the instructions to open the phone here: http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/iPhone/Rear-Panel/105/4/Page-1/SIM-Card

    Here's how to downgrade the bootloader:
    http://iphone.unlock.no/bootloader_downgrade.htm

    It looks very fiddly to me and calls for some special tools. And yes, there are parts of the instructions that warn about breaking the phone if you're not very careful.

    In my opinion, you're better off getting one of the SIM sandwich chips like StealthSIM or TurboSIM. (search on Google or eBay) There are a number of differently named ones, but they all seem to be based on the same principle. (Just make sure your supplier has them on hand when you order.)

    First you need to jailbreak your phone. Then you have to cut a notch out of the SIM chip you want to use so that it and the SIM thingy you'll buy fit in the phone. You might have to run iWorld depending on your location.

    I did this without too much trouble.

    Whatever you do, don't let iTunes upgrade your phone to 1.1.3. You might not be able to go back and jailbreak!

    Good Luck!
     

Share This Page