iPhone Unlocking an old Iphone 3G

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by zenbrother, Nov 7, 2014.

  1. zenbrother macrumors newbie

    zenbrother

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    #1
    Hi all,

    I had an old Iphone 3G laying around that I unlocked and jailbroke some years ago. I totally forgot about it being unlocked. I did a fresh reset in Itunes and upgraded it to 4.??? Don't remember and now it's locked and can't get it to work anymore... Silly me..

    It seems I have to unlock it again but I can't find any recent info as what to use to do it. I have no idea what baseband and the exact version that's on it right now.

    Can someone give me some pointers?

    Much appreciated,
    zen
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Jailbreak it, then use Cydia to install Ultrasn0w
     
  3. zenbrother thread starter macrumors newbie

    zenbrother

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    #3
    Thanks for the tip.

    I just jailbroke it and installed Cydia and after that Ultrasn0w, did a restart but still having the "No Signal" thing for the carrier..

    Am I missing something?

    I'm so close :)
     
  4. jkeating2005 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #4
    what modem firmware is the baseband running?


    settings-general-about
     
  5. zenbrother thread starter macrumors newbie

    zenbrother

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
  7. zenbrother thread starter macrumors newbie

    zenbrother

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    #7
    The oddest thing happened.

    First I tried to downgrade from Ipad baseband and nothing happened. Then I upgraded to Ipad baseband but it's still @ 05.15.04

    Very strange..
     
  8. jkeating2005 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #8
    Being that a tutorial would be a lot to type, I'll just attach this link with a pretty detailed tutorial

    http://www.whited00r.com/forum/index?topic=7134.0
     
  9. zenbrother thread starter macrumors newbie

    zenbrother

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    #9
    Sn0wbreeze seems to be for windows only...

    I tried doing it with Pawnage tool but that does't work either..

    Are there any other programs that can do it? I look like that are my only two options...
     
  10. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #10
    Redsn0w will downgrade the baseband, then jailbreak it, then install Ultrasn0w from Cydia to unlock.

    That is what you need to do for your 3G to be unlocked, thousands upon thousands have done this to unlock.
     
  11. KatieRoeMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    #11
    Unlock iphone 3g using a Mac

    I think I'm running into a similar issue. Here is my info

    At&T iPhone 3GS
    Version 6.1.6 (10B500)
    Model MC640LL/A
    Serial # 88131XXXXXX
    Modem Firmware 05.16.08

    I downloaded Redsnow as mentioned in order to downgrade Firmware. I got this error message. (also attached)

    Missing Keys.plist data for this build:

    Device iPhone 3GS
    ECID: 2416340255565
    Build: iPhone 2,1_6.1.6_10B500



    I'm not sure what to do now?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    If its an AT&T iphone they will just unlock it for free anyway.
    Just submit a request online.
     
  13. KatieRoeMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    #13
    Yes, thank you. A friend in the States gave it to me to use while I'm abroad. He said he doesn't want to bother with the hassle of unlocking it through AT&T (sigh...) so I'm hoping there is another way to do it.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    You can submit the unlock yourself.
    Its out of contract anyway since its over 6 years old.
    Go here and fill out the form.
    https://www.att.com/deviceunlock/?#/unlockrequest
     
  15. KatieRoeMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    #15
    He can't be bothered to give me the few personal details necessary to submit the request. Any other suggestions?
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Give me the imei.
    I'll submit the unlock for you;)
     
  17. Bungle73 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Location:
    UK
  18. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #18
    Will contacting AT&T via the link above work for former AT&T customers?
    For example, I had an iP4S, purchased from AT&T on launch. Fast forward a few years and I'm now with Consumer Cellular (uses AT&T towers).

    Although this 4S works flawlessly with CC I'd like it unlocked with AT&T.
    Will AT&T honor that request?
     
  19. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #19
    Yes, they should.
    They have an option listed for former customers so I'd give it a try.
     
  20. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA

Share This Page