Unlocking and the New Baseband

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by deadparrotx, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. deadparrotx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #1
    I don't care about unlocking, but do want my jailbreak. I've already jailbroken my 3GS with 3.1. I'm sticking with ATT so should I upgrade the baseband? Would this help with reception etc?

    Since I've already jailbroken my iPhone. Would I be able to just update with the ATT 3.1 verision to upgrade the baseband, then restore with the jailbroken firmware?


    Thanks!
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    3.1 has been out for some weeks now and I have not read anywhere that there is any performance benefit from the new baseband. I believe Apple updated it solely to prevent unlocking.

    I can tell you my wife and I are both on 3.1 firmware, both JB. She has the 5.11.xx baseband and I kept the 4.26.xx baseband. There is no difference in the performance or reception of the 2 phones.

    Just my 2 cents worth.
     
  3. deadparrotx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #3
    Thanks! That's disappointing. I have heard that it will fix the ATT carrier logo issue though. Is there any downside to upgrading other than losing unlock?
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    Yes, if your baseband is 5.11.xx and you JB, you will NOT get the missing carrier name error in the status bar and missing carrier error in network settings about page.

    If you have 4.26.xx, you get the error.

    The older baseband doesn't accurately report the carrier info to the 3.1 firmware. Perhaps someone will figure out how to overcome this glitch.
     
  5. deadparrotx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #5
    Last question, I used a pre-jailbroken firmware for 3.1 because I am on Windows. Since pwnage tool is only available on Macs, if I upgrade with Apple's Official Firmware to get the new baseband, I'll be unable to restore the custom firmware right?

    Is there any other way to upgrade the baseband and keep the jailbreak, keeping in mind I don't have a Mac and can't run pwnagetool?
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    if it's a 3GS and you go to official 3.1, the tools to JB on 3.1 have not been released yet.

    If it's a 3G, yes, you can go to official 3.1 then JB to 3.0. 3.0.1 or 3.1

    For both, once you go to the new baseband, for now, you cannot unlock.
     

Share This Page