Unlocking iphone 3g question (need answer A.S.A.P.)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by dgamer84, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. dgamer84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #1
    I'm unlocking this for the brother-in-law. If the phone is already jailbrocken than I only need to check the install ipad baseband box right?


    thanks
     
  2. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #2
    Click on settings > general > about > scroll to modem firmware. First check the baseband to see if it's an unlockable one.

    If not install the iPad basband through Redsn0w. To unlock go into Cydia and install Ultrasn0w.
     
  3. dgamer84, Jan 31, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2011

    dgamer84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #3
    He has 5.15.04 which isn't unlockable. I just want to know If the phone already has cydia installed do I have to install it again when upgrading the baseband?
     
  4. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #4
    Yes. It's how you integrate the ipad bb.
     
  5. dgamer84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #5
    Thanks, after updating the baseband and running ultrasnow. I tested it out with my friends tmobile sim and it worked!
     
  6. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #6
    Tell the bro not to update his software. He'll have to use custom iOS firmware from now on.
     
  7. dgamer84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    #7
    Yeah, I explained everything to him before going through with it.




    thanks
     

Share This Page