Unlocking iphone 3g

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mreddys10, Aug 12, 2008.

  1. mreddys10 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #1
    Hi,
    I just bought a 16gb 3g iphone. I wanted to know if there is any software right now that can unlock the 3g model. Pls let me know if winpwn 2.0.4 will unlock the 3g iphone.
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Please Search.

    There is no software unlock for the 3G.

    TEG
     
  3. mreddys10 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #3
    ok....just making sure. cause wen i do a google search for unlocking software, i get all these softwares that i need to pay for. Hope i can unlock my iphone before the end of this month though.
    Thanks for the reply
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    If you are in the US it is pointless, unless going overseas or you want to use Cincinnati Bell (or another local GSM provider). Mainly because the iPhone is not compatible with the frequency used by T-Mobile USA for their 3G service.

    TEG
     
  5. bryonbrock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #5
    You can jailbreak a 3G to install your own programs and such but you can't unlock it via software for use on other carriers yet.

    WinPwn 2.0.0.4 is just an update to support the new 2.0.1 firmware.

    There are some sketchy reviews out there of a hardware sim adapter that spoofs an AT&T SIM. This isn't a full unlock and has gotten quite a bit of bad press.
     
  6. mreddys10 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #6
    I plan on taking the phone out of the US (live in canada actually). Gonna be out of north america for a few months, so i need it unlocked. guess i will just have to wait for the next version of winpwn :) Thanks for ur replies guys.....
     
  7. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #7
    Buy a TurboSim.

    It unlocks.. anything.

    Well, I use 'unlock' loosely. It tricks the phone into thinking it has an O2/AT&T/whatever sim card, so it boots up, registers and performs perfectly -- on any network.
     
  8. mreddys10 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #8
    i've heard conflicting news about these turbo sims and others like them. Not sure if i want to do that though. I just hope i get the sofware unlock soon. Guess i will have to use my other phone until then :) Thanks for the suggestions though.
     

Share This Page