Unlocking iPhone 3GS with unknown firmware

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ethanzh, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. ethanzh, Nov 28, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011

    ethanzh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #1
    Hi, I recently bought a 3GS from a friend. She had completely restored the thing so it was on the connect to itunes screen. I do not know the firmware it was running and neither does she. How do I 1. Get past the connect to itunes and 2. Unlock it???
    Step by step instructions would be much appreciated.

    thx!

    Note: I am on Sprint
     
  2. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #2
    Just connect it to itunes and set it up as a new phone then take a look. Why wouldn't you do that?
     
  3. ethanzh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #3
    It says my SIM is not supported, cuz it's sprint
     
  4. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    Do you know where the phone originate from?

    since your phone is 3GS, you can put it into DFU mode, restore it to 4.1, then hactivate with Redsn0w to by pass emergency screen.
     
  5. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #5
    Give tinyumbrella a try. If it connects it will tell you what firmware and os is on it. Maybe even the baseband, I don't remember.
     
  6. ethanzh, Nov 28, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011

    ethanzh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #6
    Tinyumbrella isnt giving any info...
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    You can restore to 4.1 since apple for some reason is still signing it.
    Then you will have to JB with redsnow and install the ipad bb to unlock.
    And no you cant unlock without the jailbreak.
     
  8. ethanzh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #8
    How do i restore if the phone is on the connect to itunes screen? Whenever i connect to itunes it say SIM isnt supported and nothing else
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    You gotta put it in dfu mode.
    Then it will let you restore and you can hold down shift or option and select the 4.1 ipsw that you downloaded.
     
  10. ethanzh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #10
    Must it be 4.1? or can i unlock with 5.0?
     
  11. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #11
    Unlock base on Iphone's baseband. If you can put a customs OS5 on it with preserving its baseband, then if the baseband on it can be unlocked with ultrasn0w, then you can unlock it. The problem is that you can't put os5 on your phone now because Apple has stopped signing 5.0.
     
  12. ethanzh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #12
    OK, so i put into DFU, restore with 4.1, jailbreak with redsn0w, how bout the unlock?
     
  13. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #13
    Like I said above, unlock is depending on Iphone's baseband, Ultrasn0w can only work on the following baseband;

    04.26.08, 05.11.07, 05.12.01, 05.13.04, 06.15.00 or 01.59.

    So, you need to check the modem firmware (baseband) on your phone and see if it is one of the baseband above. If yes, then it can be unlocked.
     
  14. ethanzh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #14
    When i restore to 4.1 an error 3194 occurs. Maybe i was in recovery not DFU??
     
  15. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #15
    3194 error is related to your hosts file. check & modify your hosts file and you are good to go.
     
  16. ethanzh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #16
    Sorry for the stupid question but... How do I do that??
     
  17. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
  18. ethanzh, Nov 30, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2011

    ethanzh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #18
    I haven't found anything to fix error 3194, instructions???
     
  19. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
  20. dave420, Nov 30, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2011

    dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #20
    Edit: My mistake, nevermind
     
  21. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #21
    And no amount of software hacking will get around it because it's a hardware limitation.

    Edit: Why did you edit that post? As far as I can see, you were correct. Did you figure out or notice something that I've missed?
     
  22. dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #22
    I edited the post because I noticed the op's location was Norway, so my "here in the USA" post possibly wasn't relevant. I thought maybe they had some sort of international roaming plan with Sprint that lets them use a GSM phone in another country. I am not sure if anything like that exists though. It still seemed odd to me.
     
  23. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #23
    I saw the OP's location also so not sure if he's really talking about Sprint USA or there's Sprint in Norway also:confused:
     
  24. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand

Share This Page