unlocking iphone 4?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by CBillups1, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. CBillups1 macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    will i need a ATT sim to unlock it to use on tmobile?
     
  2. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #2
    You will need some kind of SIM to activate the phone so you can get to the springboard.

    Inactive AT&T and Cingular SIMs will do this. Net10 SIMs will, O2 SIM (Best Buy) works.
     
  3. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    so i can use my tmobile sim?

    also what can i do about my tmobile sim? im reading that its not gonna fit?
     
  4. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #4
    Yes once you install ultrasn0w you will be able to use your t-mobile sim and you will have to cut it to micro sim size. google.
     
  5. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    thats the only thing im afraid of if the cutting, im reading that some tmobile sim cards have the big gold part that can screw things up.
     
  6. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #6
    You aren't activating that iphone with a tmobile sim.

    Buy a sim cutter tool. I've got one it works great. I've also hand cut my sim using a micro as a template. That one came out fine too.

    There's two options.

    The third is to not even get an iphone if you can't pass this simple hurdle.
     
  7. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    well i ordered a ATT micro sim so i can unlock the phone when it arrives. I will cut my tmobile sim by hand since ive seen the sim cutter mess up the gold part on the sim on youtube.
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    From reading this thread, do you think the OP knows he needs to jailbreak then run Ultrasn0w before he can use his T-Mobile sim :confused:

    Or is he just misusing the word unlock when he should be saying activate.
     
  9. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    LMFAO of course i know to unlock the phone i have to jailbreak then unlock, im not stupid. I did it on my 3g before i switched to blackberry. Its much easier now then it was before hooking up the phone and downloadin programs and what not.
     
  10. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #10
    There's a difference between ignorance and stupidity.
    We had to ask, because we've had a lot of (deliberately?) ignorant people posting; they don't know the difference between jailbreak and unlock. There was one particularly ignorant person who repeatedly jailbroke their phone and got angry because it wasn't accepting their T-Mobile SIM. Anyway, we wanted to save you (and ourselves) the headache by clarifying.
     

Share This Page