Unlocking iPhone 4

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Nikonitis, Mar 14, 2014.

1. Nikonitis, Mar 14, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2014

Nikonitis macrumors newbie

Hello all, I am new to the block so please bear with me.

I recently bought a used iPhone 4 and am beginning to lose the will to live. I have contacted the previous owner who has been very helpful in giving me the passcode to reset things on the phone. I have just received the instructions from the former network provider T-Mobile as to unlocking the phone, but am getting nowhere. I get warning signs popping up, error codes on iTunes and a panel on the phone asking me if I trust my computer. When I click yes it clearly doesn't trust me as the panel pops up again and again. I now understand I need the passcode for iCloud, or at the least I need the former owner to cancel his iCloud account. Can anyone shed any light on these issues please?
    I am running iTunes 9 on a 2 x 2.66 Ghz Intel Zeon Mac Pro with Mac OSX 10.4.11. It's an ageing Mac but I don't really see how the age of my Mac is an issue. It's a phone after all, that I am trying to connect with, so it must be something to do with the phone!!!

2. Merkie macrumors 68020

Update iTunes. You need iTunes 11.1 for iOS 7 phones.

3. smokescreen220 macrumors regular

smokescreen220

Unfortunately your mac will not run the latest version of iTunes, you will need a software update if your mac supports it...

4. Nikonitis thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you for your input. I have since returned the phone to the seller and have received a full refund. I was told by T-Mobile (here in the UK) that the original seller would have give them the IMEI number which he did. This unlocked the phone, only to discover yet another hurdle, namely the ICloud account password etc. The seller couldn't remember this info so he said to return the phone to him, which I have.