Carrier Unlocking iPhone 6 Plus (AT&T)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by NRubino, Nov 10, 2016.

  1. NRubino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #1
    So, with the purchase of my new iPhone, I am looking to sell my iPhone 6 Plus. Through some, not-so-in-depth research, obviously unlocked phones usually carry a higher resale value. So, I wiped out my old iPhone once I listed it for sale, and shortly learned about AT&T's customer unlock service. So, I got the approval for the unlock, but the steps from AT&T say to restore the phone, is that necessary for the unlock to occur, or is it already unlocked, and whoever restores the phone next (buyer) will have an unlocked iPhone?

    Thanks.
     
  2. lakaiordie macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    #2
    It should be. But you should restore anyway so you're 100% sure. What if the person wants to test it with their sim and it doesn't work because you didn't restore it? That won't look good on your end. And if I was buying it I wouldn't trust you to say 'just restore it and it will be unlocked'.
     
  3. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #3
    It's unlocked as soon as they unlock it. You don't need to restore or anything like that to make it happen (that was something part of fairly old instructions at this point).
     
  4. NRubino thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #4
    Okay, but if I restore it from a recent backup with service switch between my new phone and the old one? Or will it just say no service?

    Thanks for your help !
     
  5. Applejuiced, Nov 10, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2016

    Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    The restore is not needed any more.
    That step has been eliminated many years ago but for some reason carriers still include it in their unlock info.
    All you have to do is stick another carriers sim inside and it will work.
    As far as wiping it you can just plug it to itunes and hit restore.
    Then when it asks you to setup as new phone or restore from backup select setup as new so nothing is on it when you sell it.
     
  6. NRubino thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #6
    Thanks for your help !
     
  7. NRubino thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #7
    So, I check on the AT&T website and it says approved but I never received a follow-up email stating the phone has been unlocked. I have a buyer ready to pick-up today, is there any way I can prove to him that the phone is indeed, unlocked, and will work with his carrier, prior to meeting up with him and having him put his SIM card in ?
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    The only way to really tell if its unlocked is stick another carriers sim card inside.
    See if you can borrow someones T mobile sim for a minute to test it out.
     
  9. NRubino thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #9
    I get this message when I put my IMEI in on iphoneIMEI.info ... Not sure what it means. [​IMG]
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Many of those IMEI check website are not really reliable and not a certain way to tell for sure though.
     
  11. eagleglen macrumors 6502a

    eagleglen

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #11
    I think unless you have a SIM card from another carrier, the only other way to prove/test if it is unlock is to restore the device using iTunes. Once that is completed you will get a notice saying it is unlocked. I took the following screen shot to show the person who bought my previous iPhone.

    IMG_0365.JPG
     
  12. NRubino thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #12
    I was going to do that but I don't want to restore from a backup... if I restore it as new, will it still give me that message ?
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Yes.
    You don't need to restore from backup.
    That message should pop up on iTunes as soon as the phone restarts after the restore is completed.
     

Share This Page