Unlocking Iphone 6s from Philippines.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Zerohealin, Jan 22, 2017.

  1. Zerohealin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    #1
    Hello,

    I apologies in advance if this is the wrong place to ask!

    So on my family visit in the Philippines i bought an iPhone 6s.
    I didn't ask if it was locked and my card seemed to work fine when testing out, but once i arrived back in the Netherlands i discovered its locked to SMART (Philippine provider).

    I've looked around in the Netherlands but so far i have no luck finding someone who can can remove the sim lock.

    Are there any services online that are trust able and are able to remove smart locks?

    Thank you in advance for taking your time with me :)

    Nick
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    First thing you should do is contact the carrier it's locked to. Maybe they will unlock it for you for free or for a fee.
     
  3. Zerohealin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    #3
    Thank you for your responce, i tried doing this but unless i am the original person with who got it from them they will sadly not unlock it
     
  4. pika2000 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #4
    Welp, not much you can do. Unlike other phones, the "unlock" status of iPhones is stored on Apple's servers. So unless someone has access to that, nothing much you can do.
    Afraid that you have to follow whatever Smart's policy is.
     
  5. Mike5254 macrumors regular

    Mike5254

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Location:
    Cincinnati and Philippines
    #5
    I'm in the Philippines right now (11:32pm). I will ask SMART if there's a possible way for you to have it unlocked. What I know is when you buy a phone from SMART, it will be SIM locked. I will keep you posted tomorrow afternoon.
    Are you on an agreement with SMART for a 2 year plan?
     
  6. thewitt macrumors 68020

    thewitt

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #6
    SMART will release SIM locks on any phone after the end of the contract. I've done it.
     
  7. bufffilm Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #7
    I'm laughing at this...you buy a phone in the Philippines intending to bring back to the Netherlands and are asking these late questions now???

    Who does that? Wow...
     
  8. Zerohealin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    #8
    Hello,

    thank you all for your reply :)

    i have no agreements with smart.

    i bought the iphone secondhand, and i didnt ask if it was locked. i was using a smart prepaid when i was there and that worked so i didnt question it.

    From what i know is that smart only unlocks it if i am the original owner (the one who has an agreement with them).

    They declined my request twice at their email helpdesk :/

    thank you for your efforts though! I greatly appreciate it.

    Nick
     
  9. thewitt macrumors 68020

    thewitt

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #9
    Don't email them. Call them. You will need to provide the IMEI number.
     
  10. bufffilm Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #10
    If only the original owner can request the unlock, do you have that info to contact them?

    Otherwise, you're probably SOL.
     
  11. Zerohealin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    #11
    i would love to call them but i cant call them with my prepaid card. (as far as i know)

    what exactly should i say? wont they ask me for the contract info like they do in email contact?
    --- Post Merged, Jan 23, 2017 ---
    sadly not
     
  12. bufffilm Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #12
    Well, chauk up a lesson learned.

    Next time, ask before buying. Expensive lesson.
     
  13. dslrjunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #13
    send it back to Philippines and have someone sell it for you..of course if money is not an object then just keep as an ipod..
     

Share This Page