Unlocking That Developer Can't Be Confirmed Locking ?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Robert4, Oct 26, 2018.

  1. Robert4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    #1
    Hello,

    Not too sharp with this "stuff" anymore, so if anyone might
    give me the exact step-by-steps to follow, would be appreciative.

    I downloaded a .dmg file/program from SourceForge.
    The Developer is fine, but I get the following error messages when I click on it
    to actually install the program:

    “Gqrx” can’t be opened because the identity of the developer cannot be confirmed.

    Tried doing it under Safari and also Firefox. Same results.

    Under preferences in the Apple pull-down, I went to the Security & Privacy icon, and have tried most everything there to allow it.

    I also unlocked it using my Password, and then clicked the Allow All button.

    Doesn't work.

    What should i do, please ?

    Thanks, appreciate the help,
    Bob
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    Right or control-click on the installer/application and select "open". You'll then be prompted to confirm that you really want to open it.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    Run this command in terminal:
    sudo spctl --master-disable

    ...and you won't be bothered by that any more.
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    I wouldn't recommend bypassing that security feature for the average user. Certainly not without explaining what it's doing, at least.
     
  5. Robert4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    #5
    Hi Folks.

    What a terrific Forum and Folks on it.

    Thanks for replies.
    All set now.

    Bob
     
  6. mikehalloran macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #6
    Depends on the OS. Some reset after 30 days. Not even that long in High Sierra.
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #7
    "Depends on the OS. Some reset after 30 days. Not even that long in High Sierra."

    I understand this can get "reset" with a software update, is that correct?
    If that happens, just run the terminal command again.

    Before "Gatekeeper", the Security/Privacy-->General pane offered THREE radio button choices at the bottom:
    - App Store
    - App Store and identified developers
    - Anywhere

    With Gatekeeper (or perhaps just with newer software releases), the "anywhere" option is removed, leaving only the first two choices.

    Running the terminal command in reply 3 above merely restores the "anywhere" option.
    It's one of the first things I reset when setting up the OS after a software install or upgrade.
    The Mac ran fine with the "anywhere option" for years.
    Nothing has changed.
     
  8. giovinccent macrumors newbie

    giovinccent

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2019
    Location:
    Brazil - Curitiba/ PR
    #8
    Worked like a charm (Mac OS High Sierra, after de the command sudo spctl --master-disable in terminal).
     
  9. mikehalloran macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #9
    You're kinda' sorta' not quite remembering a number of changes and conflating them. Gatekeeper has been around since OS 10.7.5. Each new OS changed features and requirements till its present version in Mojave.
    Only for a few days anymore. It used to be permanent setting but no longer. It was 30 in Sierra—may be less time now. Knowing that it will reset, I no longer bother. It still works in Mojave. If I remember to check, it will be interesting to see how long it lasts nowadays.
    Glad it worked but the Terminal command was not necessary.
    That's the way to do it but sometimes the Security panel doesn't open up. When that happens, you have to go into System Preferences to bring it up and allow the installer to run.
     
  10. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #10
    Mike wrote:
    "Only for a few days anymore. It used to be permanent setting but no longer."

    Having used terminal to enable the "from anywhere" option, it STAYS set on my Mac (2018 Mini, 10.14.6).
     
  11. mikehalloran macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #11
    Maybe. Frankly, I hope you're right but it will surprise me if Apple changed it.

    We'll see. I haven't tested it since Sierra. I set it yesterday. So far, still good after 48 hours.
     
  12. jtara macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #12
    You must do this from Finder. It won't work from third-party apps like Path Finder, etc.
     

Share This Page

11 October 26, 2018