Unlocking the iPhone 4 with 04.11.08 baseband.(Repost, made a mistake)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Reunix, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Reunix macrumors newbie

Hi fellas, let me first start off with just saying that this is my first post on MacRumors and that i am kind of new with the whole iPhone business of unlocking and basebands, and all that.

I have a problem, that some other iPhone 4 buyers are having as well, one being stupidity for not understanding how dangerous it can be to update a unlocked iPhone, and the second, not understanding all there is to understand in preserving the baseband. And that's why i'm here... I'll cut to the chase.

I updated my iPhone to iOs 5.01 and got the new baseband, and what i am wondering, and don't worry, i have been reading a lot of forums, posts, etc. And none have quite explained how and why the baseband can't be reverted, and i also found this very nice post, that i think maybe can work, i need the opinion of some more skilled veterans.

The post i read goes like this:
    Uninstall iTunes 10.5 and install 10.4 which you can find by googling. Download 4.3.5 ipsw from iclarified and do a custom ipsw restore in iTunes by either shift clicking on restore in iTunes after selecting your iPhone on the left side (Windows) or option clicking restore (Mac). Then you can direct your mouse to the 4.3.5 ipsw you downloaded from iclarified. Restore your iPhone to 4.3.5 this way and then uninstall iTunes 10.4. Reinstall 10.5.

You can either cook your own 5.0.1 ipsw using redsn0w for the next part, or you can google custom 5.0.1 ipsw to preserve your baseband. I used redsn0w and it was simple. You HAVE to upgrade to 5.0.1 with a custom IPSW if you want to unlock, there is now way to unlock if you don't.. as you know it will stick you with 04.11.08 if you use the basic ipsw.