unplugging Airport Express frequently

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by muzzyology, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. muzzyology macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #1
    I use the Express to listen to audio in the kitchen.
    Is there any real downside to unplugging and plugging it once or twice a day?
    Does the Express use a lot of energy?
    Someone else already asked, but the replier didn't seem certain if it really adds a lot of wear and tear.
    Any ideas?

    Thanks for any info you can offer.
     
  2. itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #2
    The Express don't use much energy. Numbers from my kitchen -
    Speakers+Express: 11-13W
    Speakers only: 9-11W

    I probably have pretty much the same setup as you in my kitchen, except that i have both my powered speakers and the Express connected to a single switch which i use to cut the power to both. No problems so far, and can't really believe that it will shorten the lifespan noticeably.
     
  3. muzzyology thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #3
    Thanks, i think i'll try your set up with a single switch (little more elegant than unplugging/plugging all the time) Otherwise i'm really enjoying the Express, especially together with Airfoil (if anyone is interested in getting Airfoil, you can get it for 20 instead of 25$ today.
    http://www.macsantadeals.com/Airfoil isn't listed as an option for the rebate today, but i tried entering the code at rogue amoeba's site and it worked anyway
     
  4. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #4
    I find my airport takes ages to reconnect everytime I unplug it. Half the time I have to reset it. Is it just me, or is it normal for it to take so long? About 15 minutes. Sorry to hijack!
     
  5. itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #5
    Mine reconnects quite a bit quicker. Not sure how long it takes, but worst case should be under 30 seconds.

    I run my Expresses in WDS mode (earlier with one of the Expresses as master, now with a Gigabit Extreme). What's your setup?
     
  6. muzzyology thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #6
    no problem. 15 minutes seems awfully long, just checked and it took less than 30 sec. and i've never had to reset it (i've only had it for a week though)
     
  7. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #7
    Must be something on my network. nevermind, i never unplug it anyway, and its well out of warranty. Over a year old at least.
     
  8. skuzzy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    Cape Town, SA
    #8
    No, unplugging it and plugging it in again will do nothing to affect its operation in any way shape and/or form.
     
  9. Ugg macrumors 68000

    Ugg

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Penryn
    #9
    I unplug mine every night along with my dsl modem. My concern is that it gets so darned hot and especially in the summer, the last thing I need in the those is something generating more heat.

    I've been doing it for more than a year and no problems whatsoever. It's two years old and going strong.

    It only takes mine about 1.5 minutes to boot up
     
  10. muzzyology thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #10
    Cheers, good to know
     

Share This Page