Unplugging and Plugging in G4 routinely

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Patth9, Apr 6, 2017.

  1. Patth9 macrumors regular

    Patth9

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    Another generation of Apple Power Mac G4s was introduced on August 13, 2002(explains the year it is)

    My old G4-Mdd is still working, YEA!!! but every time I turn it of, the next time I want to use it, I have to unplug the cord and plug it back again. This is better than it not working at all, but just wondering if any one has a guess. I asked this question years ago, but no one knew, so I'm trying again.

    Machine Name: Power Mac G4
    Machine Model: PowerMac3,6
    CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (3.3)
    Number Of CPUs: 2
    CPU Speed: 1 GHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU)256 KB
    L3 Cache (per CPU):2 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 133 MHz
    Boot ROM Version:4.4.8f2
    Serial Number: XB23314MMUM
    Sales Order Number:M8787LL/A

    Patt
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    I don't recall you asking a year ago so I may not have been in that thread.

    Sounds like a bad PSU. The MDDs are prone to that. I'd replace it.
     
  3. ziggy29 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Texas
  4. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #4
    They can work like that for a while, but as said the PSU is the cause of the problem and sooner or later it may stop turning on at all.
     
  5. Patth9 thread starter macrumors regular

    Patth9

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
  6. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    I've had the exact same issue with 1 of my MDD's.
    To save wear and make things a tad more bearable I installed a switch in the power cord as shown here.
    Been working just fine now for several years.
    photo.JPG
     
  7. G4fanboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Andalucia Spain
    #7
    I have a PM MDD 867 dual that "sounds" when it is off and electrically connected. A regular electric sound every 2-3 seconds. The room has to be quiet to listen to it. Some have told me it could be a failing PSU. But it WORKS! And have been working fine for the last 4 years. My PSU is the original one, with the loud fans.
     
  8. Patth9 thread starter macrumors regular

    Patth9

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #8
    G4fanboy
    and
    jbarley

    For heaven's sake, didn't know anyone else who has or had this same problem.
    You both have made my DAY!
    Happy I remembered to pay this thread a visit.
     
  9. G4fanboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Andalucia Spain
    #9
    I have a similar problem, but I do not have to unplug it everytime, it is just a cosmetic/acoustic problem. I can live with those "light" troubles.
     
  10. Patth9 thread starter macrumors regular

    Patth9

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #10

    REALLY A HAPPY CAMPER NOW! Thank you so MUCH for your input to keep an old G4 alive. No more leaving the G4 sticking out so both end were showing.
    It works wonderfully. Had a hard time finding the tread that I was on.
    :):):):)
    Thanks, jbarley,
     
  11. bobesch macrumors 6502a

    bobesch

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #11
    Hi all! Just one more thing ...
    I used to have such strange behavior with a PC in about 2004/05 which was related to the situation, when the PC hadn't been plugged directly into a single wall-socket but into a multiple socket together with other devices.
    Had to unplug the PC too then and hold the power-button for 5sec to resolve the problem.
    Maybe using a separate wall-socket for the PowerMac would solve the problem too. Otherwise installing a separate switch into the PM's cable acts like plug-in&out but I would advise everyone not to use the switch before the system has been shut down properly.
     
  12. Patth9 thread starter macrumors regular

    Patth9

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #12
    Good idea, never thought of the wall-socket option, and one should be sure to be down before flipping the switch. Many thanks, hope these ideas help others, so they don't have to wait nearly 10 years to find the answer.
    Thanks Bobesch
     
  13. G4fanboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Andalucia Spain
    #13
    Now my sawtooth dual 1.8 needs to be unplugged more than 5 seconds to be able to boot.
     

Share This Page