Unreal 2004 Dual Monitors?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Schumach5, Jan 2, 2009.

  1. Schumach5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    I just got UT 2k4 and, I've got to say, it's a great running game for Macs with a steady population. Now, I've seen videos on youtube of Mac users playing this game with dual monitors, and I'm very curious to know how to do it! It probably won't be such a good idea during online play, but...I'm curious. Anyone have any idea how to make this happen?

    Here's a youtube video showing it.
     
  2. Schumach5 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  3. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #3
    It's a nice game.

    I've never run it on dual monitors, but at a guess, I would say plug in the two monitors, use Display Preferences (in OSX) to set them up in side-by-side, then run UT04 and configure that to the right screen size.

    ie. if you have 2 monitors each 640x480, then tell UT04 to display 1280x480.

    (640 + 640 = 1280)

    The option you want might just come up automatically in the list of screen sizes, or you could enter the console and set it yourself.
     
  4. socamx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    #4
    The problem with that video is they don't say if the Mac Pro is running the game in OS X or Windows or Linux. I've never heard of this kind of monitor spanning with accelerated 3D games working properly on a Mac before.

    Besides, that's totally impractical and only serves as a way to show off. So like you said, don't plan on using it for competitive play unless you want to get mopped all over the floor.

    I think it is also a safe bet that it is a single video card with dual video outs on it, because Macs lack the ability to use crossfire or sli which would allow the cards to run and communicate together. (As far as I know anyway.)

    Also, UT2004 on the Mac, when my G5 used to have two monitors hooked up, the second monitor is totally inactive and unused. Depending on an INI file setting, the second monitor either goes black during gameplay, or displays the desktop only. So I don't know if the UT2004 Mac client is even capable of playing on two screens at once and really doubt it can.
     
  5. robo74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Near Chicago
    #5
    I am thinking it was Windows... but could be wrong.

    Had a buddy try the same thing... no go. Maybe he was doing it wrong. Who knows.
     
  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    There are VGA hardware that splits up 1 signal onto 2 screens.
     
  7. socamx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    #7
    A VGA splitter is probably the only way to go on OS X. I seriously doubt there is any other way to accomplish that on a Mac with OS X and the Mac UT2004 client.
     

Share This Page