Unreal Tournament 2003 for Emac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Undertaker316, Jan 30, 2008.

  1. Undertaker316 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
  2. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #2
    Technically yes, if you have enough memory (256MB). But you are just meeting the hardware requirements, and your ancient GeForce 2MX will choke unless you turn all the settings down.
     
  3. socamx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    #3
    It'll definitely run but not very well, my old iBook G4 1Ghz with a Radeon 9200 was able to pull out 25 FPS @ 800x600 default settings. UT2003/4 are much more CPU bound so the 700MHz will be your main bottleneck.

    Also, I'd recommend UT2004 over UT2003 due to the fact the master server is no more.
     
  4. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #4
    Unreal Tournament (note: no year attached...) runs pretty good on my 1ghz eMac when I run it in OS9... that's what I would shoot for, personally. Runs at a good clip, nice and smooth. Much more than that, and you'll be watching a slideshow, not playing a game. Won't be fun...
     
  5. zeppelin68 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #5
    probably. UT04 ran relatively well on my old 256mb ram 1.33 ghz radeon 9200 ibook g4 so 03 should run
     
  6. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #6
    That's the original Unreal Tournament, a.k.a Unreal Tournament '99 or UT '99...that even ran well on my old 300MHz G3 Clamshell iBook. Good game.

    But UT 2003 is a whole different beast.
     
  7. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #7
    I had the same eMac and played UT99, UT2003 and UT2004 on it. 99 obviously was really smooth, but 2003 was near unplayable on lowest graphics, 800x600.

    Strange, but 2004 ran almost 2x better than UT2003, so I was able to turn some graphics settings to medium.

    I never patched my 2003 though, probably with updates they optimized the game better...
     
  8. John Jacob macrumors 6502a

    John Jacob

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    #8
    UT2003 works fine with default settings on my Powerbook 12", whose specifications (1.12GB RAM, 867MHz G4, GeForce 4200 Go) are not all that different from your eMac. I get a framerate of about 35-40 fps, which is sufficient for playing in single player mode. So I think you should be ok if you have enough RAM.
     
  9. iZac64 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #9
    haha

    I have one of these too and play WC III over LAN sometimes, I think this game would run ok on low settings unless someone with more knowledge proves otherwise.
     
  10. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #10
    Your 12" has a Go5200 actually, which is MUCH more powerful than the OP's 2MX. It will make big difference in UT 2003 framerates.
     
  11. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #11
    Actually the 867 MHz 12" PB has a GeForce 4 (420?) Go
     
  12. Dainas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #12
    Well it doesn't matter, I have a Go5200fx in my 1ghz powerbook G4. Still a painful slideshow(And I consider 20-30fps playable :p ).

    A 5200fx and Geforce MX are great for even older games like Quake 3 and such though.
     

Share This Page