iPhone Unreliable wireless data on jailbroken 4s

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by T5BRICK, Apr 19, 2013.

  1. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #1
    I've had my AT&T iPhone 4S jailbroken on iOS 6.1.2 since just after the evasi0n jailbreak was available.

    Everything was working fine until yesterday when I started seeing intermittent drop outs on WiFi and "4G". Today it is much worse.

    Basically, what I see is my signal strength stays the same, but whatever I'm doing that requires data, obviously isn't able to transmit or receive. Loading a webpage, for example, will stop halfway through. Posting an image on Facebook will fail to complete uploading. Sometimes I can get these to complete by trying over and over. I'm usually able to send iMessages, although, they've been noticeably slow.

    So far, I've removed ALL of my tweaks and I'm still having the issues. I'm not sure what to do next. I'd rather not lose my jailbreak, but with this intermittent data problem, my phone is almost unuseable.
     
  2. T5BRICK, Apr 19, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2013

    T5BRICK thread starter macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    As for the tweaks that I had installed, here is a list:

    %hooks law < Installed this one most recently
    Activator
    BiteSMS
    DashboardX
    F.Lux
    Gridlock 2
    Jukebox
    NCsettings
    Omnistat Pro
    Springtomize 2

    I had more, but since I uninstalled them all before I thought of making the list, I don't remember what they were. Damn.
     
  3. T5BRICK thread starter macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    I've purchased all of my apps and I don't see any that could cause this kind of problem. I've attached a couple of screen captures of speedtest. Typically I'm not getting any connection at all, but the other one was actually connected and my download and upload speed were atrocious.

    I done a "Reset network settings" and I've contacted AT&T about possible service outages. I'm at a loss. Does anyone have any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #4
    Have you tried booting up with mobile substrate disabled (holding volume up when booting) and see if you still experience these problems?
     
  5. T5BRICK thread starter macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    Not yet, but I just tried it and the problem remains. :(
     
  6. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #6
    Is the problem with both wifi and cellular data? Or just cellular data?
     
  7. T5BRICK thread starter macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    The other day both were acting up, but today WiFi seems to be working just fine. Lets just say it is only the cellular data that I'm having issues with.
     
  8. ja2ed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #8
    Not sure if this will help any. I had an issue with just my signal and losing service. I switched out phones and got a new SIM card. To then find out it was this 8 ball pool app from the apple App Store that was causing my signal issue. I should have read one of the reviewers before hand. But it may be some app that is installed from the App Store.
     
  9. T5BRICK thread starter macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    I'll have to look into that.

    I'm actually out away from where I normally live and work today, and my data seems better. I may need to call AT&T again. I think there may be something wrong with the tower(s) in that area.
     
  10. ja2ed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #10
    That also could be a possibility good luck. I have had a rough two weeks trying to get rid of this issue.
     
  11. T5BRICK thread starter macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    This morning I was unable to use my WiFi at home, even though it was working just fine for my other wireless devices. Damn. I was hoping it was just AT&T.
     

Share This Page