Unsolvable error when archiving iOS app in Xcode for submission to Apple

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by gwelmarten, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. gwelmarten, Jan 7, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012

    gwelmarten macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    England!
    #1
    Hi

    I'm trying to archive a project to submit it to the iOS App Store, but keep getting this problem. I have already set yes to the skip install option, re-installed Xcode, rebooted and re-copied my libraries, as well as edited my schemes. I've done my research and tried everything suggested, but still get this error.

    Does anybody has a suggestion?

    Code:
    SetOwnerAndGroup "Samuel:staff" /Users/Samuel/Library/Developer/Xcode/DerivedData/Safari-clksdtmdmbdyrefxcltqlpejzefv/ArchiveIntermediates/Branon/InstallationBuildProductsLocation/Applications/armv6
        cd "/Users/Samuel/Documents/Projects/Apps/ACTIVE Reaction Test Lite Ad Free Submitted"
        setenv PATH "/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/Developer/usr/bin:/Developer/usr/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin"
        /usr/sbin/chown -RH "Samuel:staff" /Users/Samuel/Library/Developer/Xcode/DerivedData/Safari-clksdtmdmbdyrefxcltqlpejzefv/ArchiveIntermediates/Branon/InstallationBuildProductsLocation/Applications/armv6
    
    chown: /Users/Samuel/Library/Developer/Xcode/DerivedData/Safari-clksdtmdmbdyrefxcltqlpejzefv/ArchiveIntermediates/Branon/InstallationBuildProductsLocation/Applications/armv6: No such file or directory
    Command /usr/sbin/chown failed with exit code 1
    I've already asked on Stack Overflow and got two answers, both were to do with the "Skip Install" option and did not help. I've also googled extensively and tried a few options to-do with the active architectures, but aren't so sure on this.

    Thanks in advance,

    Sam
     
  2. PhoneyDeveloper macrumors 68030

    PhoneyDeveloper

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    #2
    I think your problem has to do with spaces either in the name of your app or in the path to your app. There are a few places in the commands that you show where there are double quotes and others where there are none. In the places where there are none the spaces will probably cause a failure.

    I don't know if there's a workaround other than to remove the spaces.
     
  3. forum user macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    #3
    if the chown is failing does the directory exist: That one?
    Code:
    /Users/Samuel/Library/Developer/Xcode/DerivedData/Safari-clksdtmdmbdyrefxcltqlpejzefv/ArchiveIntermediates/Branon/InstallationBuildProductsLocation/Applications/armv6
    Did you check in the Terminal?


    - Olaf
     
  4. firewood macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    You might have to sudo the command.

    Also try manually typing the sudo + commands into a Terminal window. I find typing, rather than pasting or using a script, sometimes allows directory paths to be quoted more correctly by the auto-complete capability.
     
  5. gwelmarten thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    England!
    #5
    Hi
    Thanks for your replies. It would appear that the directory doesn't exist. I don't understand what you meant by the sudo + command.

    I'm thinking that the way forward is to create a new project and import the files from this one - how exactly would I go about doing this? I don't want to have to re-write/paste and organise massive sections of code.

    Kind Regards,
    Sam
     

Share This Page