Unsolvable network problem on iMac with Mountain Lion

Discussion in 'macOS' started by d3marcus, Aug 22, 2013.

  1. d3marcus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    #1
    My network issues with my iMac is really driving me nuts.

    I'm able to open two or three tabs in Chrome/Safari without any issues, but when I try to open more connections the response times are 30 seconds to several minutes. This occurs both on wifi and ethernet.

    * I'm running the latest version of Mountain Lion with default network settings (DHCP).
    * I've replaced the router but the problems are still there.
    * I have a MacBook 13" Retina on the same network, with the same ML version without any network issues at all.
    * I've tried to change the MTU size.
    * I'm not running a torrent client or similar applications.

    Grateful for all suggestions.
     
  2. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #2
    What model iMac for starters? Connected via wire or wireless? More info is needed before anyone can start helping.
     
  3. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #3
    This, and describe your networking setup (devices).
     
  4. d3marcus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    #4
    Sorry for not supplying all information.

    It's a 12 Gb 27" iMac, mid 2011, running OS X 10.8.4. Connected with ethernet but I've tried wifi with same result. Wifi is now disabled so ethernet is the only network adapter running.

    Ethernet settings:

    IPv4: DHCP
    IPv6: Automatic
    DNS: No specific servers
    WINS: Default (No specific servers)
    802.1X: No profiles
    Proxies: None
    Hardware: Automatic
     
  5. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #5
    What are you "wired" to? Direct to cable modem? router? if so, what brand/model router? cable, DSL, dish, dial-up?
     
  6. d3marcus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    #6
    Wired to an Asus router which is connected to a 100 Mbit optical fiber unit. I have tried with a D-link router also but the problems are identical. All other units (MacBook, iPads, PCs and so on) connected to the Asus router works without network issues so I think this is related to the iMac.
     

Share This Page