Unstable (system freeze)- must power cycle too often

Discussion in 'macOS' started by SOKY, May 30, 2009.

1. SOKY macrumors newbie

Hello everyone, my name is David Francis and I publish a community magazine in Bowling Green KY. I consider myself fairly adept with computers and technology having been working with them since 1987. I was a full time web developer for 10 years prior to starting a magazine company in 2007. My experience (was) Microsoft (can I say that here?) and PC. I developed ASP websites using SQL databases and I was more or less a MS Partner having invested many years on the PC and the MS Software (lots of money too I should say.)

I was "persuaded" to learn the Macintosh by a fellow publisher and friend who loaned me a computer and Adobe software for six months. I must say I reluctant, but realized quickly that I needed the tools and performance of the MAC.

(I'm doing this intro because I'm new here... hope it's appropriate.)

I purchased a brand new mac pro in Nov 07 (2 x 2.66GHz Dual Core), this was the same month that Leopard came out and it was included with the new machine. It came with 2gb of ram which I upgrade (MAC certified ram) to 4bg about six months ago.)I immediately installed Adobe Creative Suite CS3 which I purchased as well as Office for MAC, Parallels so I could run Windows (sorry), and a logitech mouse and keyboard.

Everything worked fine until a month or two ago.

The first symptom was that the MAC had trouble turning on in the morning. I turn it off at night to save energy. Basically, the icons looked funny and the system would lock up, I would have to press and hold the power button and then she came back fine.

I had resorted to leaving it on all night just so I would have the start up troubles in the morning.