Unwieldly iTunes library

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by orestes1984, Sep 25, 2014.

  1. orestes1984 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    What do you do with it?

    I've moved my iTunes library to an external hard drive, but that doesn't help so much. I HAVE an airport extreme, one of the white ones that looks like a Mac Mini, but I've never been able to get it to integrate into my network via Wifi.

    Can I patch it into my network using something else e.g. Ethernet over power, so as I can have it established in another room where I have my external hard drive?

    I just need to get a USB port on my network so I can access my external hard drive without having to be plugged in.
     
  2. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #2
    Try setting up the Extreme to only join the network - not extend it. Sometimes extending doesn't work great with a non-Apple base router.

    Same thing, actually - if you want to try it plugging in the network instead of wireless, just have it join the network that it is plugged into.
     
  3. paulrbeers, Sep 26, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014

    paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #3
    I'm confused, what does having a hard drive plugged into your Airport Extreme have to do with an unwieldy iTunes Library? Having a hard drive plugged intot he Airport Extreme doesn't reduce the reliance on iTunes......

    Maybe I'm missing something?
     
  4. orestes1984 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    It doesn't reduce anything it just movies the issue to somewhere else where I don't have to deal with it and frees up the portability of my MacBook again so it doesn't have a hard drive physically attached to it.

    I really do wish Apple would release a proper iTunes digital media server already considering how many people are using them rather than any number of cobbled together solutions like the one I've got set up now.

    I plugged my Airport Extreme into my wireless router and it works, it's just not a very good solution.
     
  5. MacInTO macrumors 65816

    MacInTO

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Canada, eh!
    #5
    It's doable but it's not the simplest thing. I've use an Airport as a network extender/repeater. I recall I had to assign it a specific IP address. This was a few years ago so I can't recall the exact details.

    I've got my iTunes on an old white Macbook that I was given; I installed a cheap SSD and it works great. It's connected to my stereo. I can control it via my tablet or phone or the white plastic Apple remote.
     
  6. orestes1984 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Yeah it's done, and it doesn't seem to be an issue with a DHCP assigned IP address from my ADSL router. The biggest issue I'm facing now is that it's on an even slower wireless N connection which means that transferring any new content to it is near impossible due to the pathetic 35mb/s link.
     
  7. MacInTO macrumors 65816

    MacInTO

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Canada, eh!
    #7
    Nice!

    If you're doing a big dump onto the new HD, why not plug in?
     
  8. orestes1984 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    That's pretty much what I'm going to have to do from now on.
     

Share This Page