Up all night trying to jailbreak 3G 3.0.1 LOL

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by groove-agent, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. groove-agent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #1
    I'm too stubborn for my own good.

    I finally decided to try and jailbreak (not unlock) my iPhone 3G 3.0.1. I initially downloaded and ran pwnage tool but i kept on getting errors in itunes when trying to restore to the custom iwps package (codes 1600-1604). I also tried redsn0w which jumps to the end of the procedure and says it has been done when in fact, nothing has happened.

    I tried the same procedures on windows via boot camp and i get the same results. I"ve tried downloading different packages, using a different USB cable, USB port, and tried hooking up a hub. I can easily restore via itunes my original back up which works perfectly.

    I've been searching on the net for this problem, and have tried most of the proposed solutions including trying both restore and DFN modes. I know a lot of other people are having the same problem so there must be a solution somewhere. I thought it might be because I'm running iTunes 8.2.1 but i've read that downgrading to 8.2 doesn't help.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. TSX macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    After you upgrade 3.0.1 you re-JB and be sure to select the 3.0 ispw file not the 3.0.1
     
  3. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
  4. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #4
    Also make sure you have the proper device firmware. The whole time my jailbreaks were failing it was because I had the 1,2 (3G) instead of 2,1 (3GS).

    Were you really laughing out loud when you wrote the OP?
     
  5. groove-agent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #5
    I have the 3G and thus am using the 1,2 from two different sources. I thought maybe that iTunes 8.2.1 might break the jealbreak but i've seen someone report that it worked fine for them.

    I tried it at work using a completely different Mac and yet it was the same problem. Mind you, it is running 8.2.1 as well.

    I wonder if certain phones made after a certain date might not jealbreak? My 3g is fairly new (less than 3 months old).
     
  6. impulse462 Suspended

    impulse462

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #6
    Are you sure your baseband is 4.26.08? Usually the 1600 errors have to do with the baseband not being recognized
     
  7. ozzyman500 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #7
    Use redsn0w .8. Point your software to 3.0 not 3.0.1 follow on screen instructions and hold buttons down for the exact amount of time it tells you. I had a few problems at first but I just re-downloaded a fresh copy of redsn0w and I was fine. Hope this helps.
     
  8. groove-agent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #8
    Yes, I am running 4.26.08.

    i'm pretty sure that i have the correct firmware. I got the link directly from the iphone hack sites. I've tried downloading it from 3 different sources and have gone through the redsn0w procedure several times.

    I'm going to try and download a fresh copy of redsn0w and the firmware and try again (now that I'm somewhat rested).

    Searching on the internet I was surprised at how many people where getting the 1600 series of errors, and how little we really knew about the cause and even less about the fix.
     
  9. groove-agent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #9
    New copy of redsn0w and new copy of the firmware. Still the exact same problem. Followed the instructions directly, watched a few Youtube videos (I love seeing a 10 year old jailbreak their phone first try). Despite what others have said, I have a weird feelings it's iTunes 8.2.1. I'm downloading 8.2 right now. If I can get my Mac to install it, I'm going to try again.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Lol :D
    I know, I was having problems with redsnow also.
    I didnt update to 3.0.1 though so I just used purplera1n instead.


     
  11. groove-agent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #11
    Tried iTunes 8.2 and even downgraded my phone to 3.0. Tried pwnagetool and redsn0w. No change. Frack me!

    I'm now officially out of ideas. :(
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  13. TSX macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    Restore your phone first, don't allow it to put all your stuff in it. Then Jailbreak it.
     
  14. groove-agent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #14
    Thanks for your reply.

    I don't know how restoring it will help. It will only put it back the way it was which didn't work in the first place. I'm sure I've tried breaking it already after being restored with no sync.
     
  15. groove-agent thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #15
    I tried a Mac Pro with the exact same problem. However, I haven't tried with a PC only Windows XP via boot camp.
     

Share This Page