Up to 5 screens with the 2011 iMac??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by The-Pro, May 14, 2011.

  1. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Just an hour ago I looked at the new 2011 iMacs at a store. In the System Profiler (of the 27") under graphics its got 5 display connectors!! how?? i thought it can only support 3, the built in screen, and two attached via the two thunderbolt ports. Also the 21.5" has 4 display connectors in the system profiler!

    is this because of the daisy chaining?? which no screen has the ability to yet
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Thunderbolt supports daisy-chaining so that is likely the reason
     
  3. The-Pro thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    right right, thanks, that would be one epic setup :D
     
  4. stigzy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Location:
    Norway
  5. The-Pro thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    HAHA, yeh true. I use 3 screens (2x30" ACD, 23" Acer) but 5 is definitely pushing it :D
     
  6. UmbraClaw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    #6
    Well, I don't know about need, but I find it very helpful when I'm developing games in UDK.
    1) Perspective viewport and toolbars
    2) Front + Side viewports
    3) Top Viewport + Content browser
    4) Kismet, matinee and/or sound editor
    5) browser windows for tutorials, google searches etc.

    You can't imagine how relieved I was when they (FINALLY) integrated Viewport setup configuration remembrance in the March update...
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Those would be too much for the 27" iMac to handle. One 30" ACD needs 8.75Gb/s of bandwidth and one TB port can provide 10Gb/s. That means, you could use dual 30" ACD but not the 23" Acer ;)
     
  8. The-Pro thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    sorry didnt clarify, i dont have the imac!! :D
    The one guy said who would need 5 screens, so i said i use 3, however they are connected to a mac pro! ;)
     
  9. The-Pro thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #9
    Have any companies released or announced screens which can be daisy chained to one another??
     
  10. gianly1985 macrumors 6502a

    gianly1985

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #10
    Well it's a safe bet to say that the next Apple Cinema Display will be able to do it.
     
  11. The-Pro thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    Haha, yeh true, but that could take months :D
     

Share This Page