Up to How much Ram does leopard support

Discussion in 'macOS' started by snipersix, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. snipersix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #1
    As you can tell from the topic, my question is up to how much ram does leopard support. Like wats its ram limit.
     
  2. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #2
    depends wats machine you're running it on.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    AFAIK, 32GB on a Mac Pro/Xserve. Snow Leopard will be 16TB.
     
  4. waterskier2007 macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #4
    haha that has to be insane, how could you ever get that much
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    He's right! 640k ought to be enough for anyone.
     
  6. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    Ten years ago I would have said the same thing about 32 GB. I can remember having computers with less than 1/500 of what my current computer has. My current computer has 2 GB of memory, but I can remember drooling over the idea of getting 4MB. That's the same leap as from 32 GB to 16 TB.

    In ten years we'll be lamenting the fact that certain computers only support 16 TB.
     
  7. Riemann Zeta macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #7
    I doubt it. At the consumer level, things are already starting to plateau out. What will people need to do with their individual computers that will require 16 TB of RAM? Unless hard disks are abandoned and everything becomes stored in RAM (which would have to be non-volatile), I think only servers and other big-iron will have that much active memory.
     
  8. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #8
    Once everyone has that amount of memory available, the programmers will find something to fill it. Believe me. There are lots of possibilities.

    Instant audio translation from any language to any other language? Real-time 3-D renderings based on stereoscopic camcorders? Who knows?
     
  9. Slip macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #9
    Exactly, if it's there people will capitalise on it, especially if it's cheap.
     
  10. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Windows Se7en comes to mind.
     
  11. WilWheaton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #11
    More aggressive precaching like in Windows Vista would be nice (What people mistake as Vista being a 'memory hog' is actually it making good use of available unused ram, look up Super Fetch technologyin vista). Using that extra 8gb of ram to make sure photoshop will load instantly ahead of time is a good idea imo.
     
  12. smogsy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #12
    what you also have to remember as new oses come out, more memory is required by default

    For Example Min requirements for smooth operation
    Win 95 128mb fine
    Win 98 around same
    Win 2000 256MB
    Win XP 512MB
    Win Vista 1GB - Min stock install idles at 1.2GB!
    Leopard - 1GB (i had 50mb free with just safari open when i had 1gb)

    Also it will also mean more programs will just be badly coded and have serve memory leaks that will use a lot of ram.

    Im not Saying Firefox Is badly coded, but they did have some big memory leaks in FF2 which lot of people moaned at.
    like 200MB On 2 Tabs

    if you had say 10 apps open that had simlar problems 10x200mb is roughly 2GB Wasted
     

Share This Page