Update Macbook Late 2008 Aluminum

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by AppleDogs, Mar 30, 2017.

  1. AppleDogs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    #1
    I have a Late 2008 Aluminum Macbook with 4GB RAM running OS X 10.5.8.

    What is the latest OS I can safely install and what is the best way to do it? I know some upgrades were free and some had to be purchased. Does Apple have a tool that will scan my Mac and tell me what I can buy/install?
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Max supported OS on yours is El Capitan (10.11). She'll run fine on that OS if you throw in an SSD.
     
  3. AppleDogs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    #3
    Thanks. Is it safe to try the upgrade without swapping the hard drive?
     
  4. SamVilde macrumors regular

    SamVilde

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    This is my computer. It runs great with El Capitan. I did put in an SSD 2 years ago. It felt like getting a new computer, and was absolutely worth the time and money. I know that wasn't your question, but that was $85 very well spent.
     
  5. AppleDogs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    #5
    Did you do a clean install of El Capitan? Or upgrade from an earlier OS? I'm still running Leopard 10.5.8. To upgrade, I've read I have to buy Snow Leopard from Apple for $20 and then upgrade through the App Store to El Capitan.

    Is there an option to buy El Capitan? And install fresh on a new SSD?
     
  6. SamVilde macrumors regular

    SamVilde

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #6
    I had Yosemite running when I swapped out the drive. I don't know whether that was a clean install or not, but I put Yosemite on a completely blank SSD and then restored from a Time Machine back up. When El Capitan was released I installed that.

    So in other words ... I can not answer your questions, because I was never installing something that was old and hard to find. But someone here can.
     
  7. macgeek18 macrumors 68000

    macgeek18

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    I recently had to upgrade a 2009 MBP from Snow Leopard to Sierra and had to buy Lion (10.7) to upgrade to El Cap then to Sierra.
     
  8. stevef18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    I upgraded my late 2008 Aluminum Macbook from 4GB RAM to 8GB and also upgraded the HD to 500GB SSD (Samsung 850). Running El Capitain with no issues.
    Very pleased with performance.
     
  9. McPaul macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #9
    I have this same late 2008 unibody MacBook I found in a closet bit with 2gb ram.

    I'm assuming it's worth nothing. Correct?

    Also have a MacBook pro from 2006. I'm guessing the same?

    Thanks.
     
  10. stevef18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10
    --- Post Merged, May 7, 2017 ---
    You can run the El Capitain release of OSX.
    I upgraded my late 2008 Aluminum MacBook from 4GB to 8GB of RAM, and replaced the hard drive with SSD Samsung 850. This has made an unusable machine useful as a second laptop. Not as fast as a new laptop, but very useful for Web browsing, Office, Minecraft and other apps as well. Balance the upgrade cost with buying a new machine and make your decision.
     
  11. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #11
    Once you put in an SSD and upgrade the RAM I think you've got something that'll work well as a basic computer. The aluminum MacBooks have aged pretty well design-wise too IMO.

    That one's tougher. If you've got a Core Duo machine you can only bump up the RAM to 2 GB and officially you're limited to Snow Leopard. If it's got a Core 2 Duo you can officially only go up to Lion and you can only go up to 4 GB of RAM. The Core Duos are pretty sluggish, but if it's a Core 2 Duo you might be able to get a little something out of it.
     

Share This Page