Update needed at login screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by malarkine, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. malarkine macrumors newbie

    malarkine

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hi guys, total noob here. I have recently switched from custom built PCs to Mac.
    I have a MacBook Pro and ever since yesterday, at the login screen when I start up, it says on my username icon "Update Needed" and my picture has gone. I have checked to make sure that I am running the most up to date version, (10.7.2), which I am but it's still there.
    Any help or suggestions would be great.
    Many thanks,
    Greg.
     
  2. nippyjun macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
  3. malarkine thread starter macrumors newbie

    malarkine

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    I take it you are being sarcastic? If not, I apologise for my sinister attitude, but, you haven't met my friends :)
     
  4. Steve.P.JobsFan macrumors 6502a

    Steve.P.JobsFan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    #4
    This sounds stupid, but open Users in System Preferences. Check if somebody changed your account photo and username.
     
  5. malarkine thread starter macrumors newbie

    malarkine

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Impossible, no one else has access to my computer. I checked anyway to make sure but not the problem.
    It only happens when I turn my machine on. If I log out, my picture and name are back as normal. It only happens at start up.
    Thanks, Greg.
     
  6. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #6
    Did you possibly set the picture from a folder that might not be yet loaded at startup, i.e. the picture is within your Dropbox folder that hasn't loaded yet on start up. I had a somewhat similar issue when I set my messenger account picture to one from my Dropbox as sometimes it would be reset if the Dropbox didn't connect fully during startup.
     
  7. malarkine thread starter macrumors newbie

    malarkine

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    I have noticed it since i changed my profile picture. But the file is located within the pictures folder. Do you think me changing my profile picture has got something to do with it then?
    Greg.
     
  8. nippyjun macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #8
    I would just pick one of the included apple photos and see if that works.
     
  9. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    I'm assuming you had set it as a photo of something then later that photo was deleted or misplaced. Hence, the system is unable to find it to display it as the icon. (total guess). Try one of the built in Apple photos.
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Open the Address Book app and make a card for yourself and associate a picture with that card. Then go to the Card menu in Address Book and click "Make This my Card". That will make the photo you selected for the card show up as your login photo.

    Since the Lion update Apple did something wonky with the interplay between the login photo and the Address Book photo. Doing what I described should fix it for you.
     
  11. malarkine thread starter macrumors newbie

    malarkine

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    Thanks for the advice but it didn't work I am afraid. It is really bugging me now. LOL.
     
  12. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #12
    you said you just bought it so you still have applecare. I'm at a loss; all my ideas have already been proposed. can you/do you have time to take it into an apple store and have them take a look?
     
  13. malarkine thread starter macrumors newbie

    malarkine

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    I actually said I have just switched from custom built PCs to Mac. But anyway it isn't very old. I bought it in July 2011.
    The iMac is pretty much brand new but I don't have apple care on either anyway.
    I have found this https://discussions.apple.com/message/17250213#17250213
    I have just got to buy an External HDD that supports Mac now, then I can back everything up and give that a go and see if it works.

    ----------

    Actually I don't. I have al my music on my iPhone and I can upload all the other files to my web space.
     
  14. bdodds1985 macrumors 6502a

    bdodds1985

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Tartarus
    #14
    I'd just reinstall the OS and back up only what you need like apps, photos, etc... but none of the preferences. Seems drastic but if you remember everything it can be done it less than an hour.
     
  15. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #15
    you still have the included 1 year warranty, which I think is still called applecare. so if you take it into the store, they will help you. if they can figure it out...
     

Share This Page