Update on Runcore SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by MajorTCS, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. MajorTCS macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Farmington CT
    #1
    I am curious. What are the reports from others who have switched to the Scottsdale Solution? My report is: What a difference! I am worried that it is too good to be true. What about the Revision B people?
     
  2. Abyssgh0st macrumors 68000

    Abyssgh0st

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    #2
    I will have one by years end for my Rev B. Hopefully it solves my system slowdown issues.
     
  3. rrmac1912 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #3
    My experience has been mixed. Runcore 128 in Rev B MBA. The install wasn't bad, performance continues to be excellent. My only disapointment has been that my original 120GB HD doesn't work with the included RunCore enclosure/USB adapter. It spins up, but isn't recognized by any of my computers. I had really hoped to use it as a portable external USB drive and this was one of the reasons that I purchased this upgrade. I contacted both Runcore support online and the reseller that I purchased it from. (My Digital Discount) and never got any response whatsoever from either regarding the enclosure, so I am concerned about the support if I have an issue with the drive in the future.
     
  4. MajorTCS thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Farmington CT
    #4
    I have had the same experience trying to have my Macs recognize the Samsung drive. I want to zero the drive prior to selling it. Neither my iMac or MBA recognizes the Samsung Drive. Also, an eBay customer wants to know if the Samsung Drive I am trying to sell is under warranty. I doubt Apple will warrant a removed drive.
     
  5. Jaap macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #5
    I had a lot of trouble putting the thick (white paper) ZIF "cable" into the old samsung but once i got it, it ran like a charm.

    Did you get the ZIF cable all the way in (with the "pins" on the inside)?
     
  6. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #6
    My experience with the RunCore SSD has been excellent. I love it.

    The experience with other hardware from RunCore has been more interesting.

    The USB enclosure is nearly impossible to assemble by yourself (it took two of us to get the screws in) and I never could get the system to mount the hard drive I removed from the Macbook Air.

    Note: I removed the drive and ZIF cable with it still attached being very careful not to disturb it. It is still connected the same way it was working in the Macbook Air and the computer the enclosure is attached to still isn't mounting the drive. It spins up, but after that it doesn't show up in disk utility.

    There also seems to be a problem with RunCore's support.

    I emailed them regarding the problems in my other thread here 6 days ago. There hasn't been any reply except the form script on their website sending me an alert that my email had been received. To be fair, Matt from RunCore provided the necessary information in the thread.

    Posts over at their official support forums languish without updates. Examples here and here.

    It looks like RunCore is becoming very popular very fast as people find out about them and how fast their SSDs are to the point they're overwhelmed. I might be wrong about this, but I hope they improve things soon. The other computers I have are just begging to be updated with RunCore SSDs. :D
     
  7. Runcore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #7
    We are looking into the Lif HDD/Rev B/C issue with the USB case now. I will get back to you guys by tomorrow.

    Matt
    Runcore
     
  8. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #9
    I have a v 2,1 MBA (rev b/c)... so we call it rev c but it's really still a B. I am having a great experience with the Runcore SSD. It's a wonderful improvement over the stock HDD or even SSD. It truly changes the entire computing experience of the MBA. I do wish for more drive space, and I hope a year from now we get more drive space in a Runcore. I wouldn't want to have a new MBA with a stock drive. I am spoiled with the speed of the Runcore SSD.

    I don't know what to do if Apple releases a new MBA with a larger SSD if Runcore doesn't have a similar sized drive by then. I suppose I will use the Runcore from my current MBA as the speed is far more important to me than having every media file with me all the time. All of my biz files and personal stuff fits on the 128 GB SSD except my movies, tv shows, and high quality music/photos.

    I thought about doing a video on how to do install the Runcore in the MBA since you asked me about instructions for it. However, I am dealing with Cancer right now and have other things on my mind. I guess I think Runcore should include a video of their own... or instructions. Seems like an obvious necessity, but it's truly simple with the right tools.

    If Runcore's sales team want to sell upgraded drives to MBA users, they definitely need to show how simple it is to not overwhelm the average business "pro" who may not have ever opened a computer. To those who have never opened a laptop, it may seem like something fragile, but it's a breeze if you have the right tools. The right screwdrivers are a necessity. I would encourage people to buy a high precision small screwdriver kit.

    Anyways, I am definitely happy with the Runcore. I cannot imagine having to go backwards to the stock SSD... and I really could never imagine an HDD. I guess for anyone considering a Runcore, or those disappointed with the speed of their MBA, upgrade to a Runcore SSD for a big time performance boost!
     
  9. MajorTCS thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Farmington CT
    #10
    Scottsdale Well said! Get better. We still have not heard from Runcore on the troublesome Sata/USB adapter. I have had two that are no good.
     
  10. Runcore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #11
    Still waiting on the guys in China to get back to me but I tried it myself today and I also could not get it working with the stock MBA Rev C drive.

    Hope to update you guys very very soon.

    Matt
     
  11. Runcore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    #12
    Ok guys here is the news.

    The bridge chip used the the SATA to USB transfer is not compatible with the stock drives from the MBA Rev C and B.

    Good news is we will be sending everyone that bought a Lif drive a new PCB for the USB case ASAP. We will also inform our resellers to do the same.

    I estimate it will be about 2 weeks time.

    As to not delay orders any longer we are going to go ahead and ship more Lif drives with a note explaining that we will be sending a new PCB so people can use the old drive in the USB case.

    Sorry about that guys and thank you for the great feedback. Now we can get this problem solved early.

    Matt Dawson
    Runcore
     
  12. coast1ja macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #13
    Well done!... it's nice to see this level of customer care from a small tech company... I've seen much worse from Samsung, Dell, and HP. Thanks!
     
  13. MajorTCS thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Farmington CT
  14. PreetinderBajwa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Location:
    HK
    #15
    I hope everything works out well for you

    Scottsdale,

    I don't know but I think noticed you said you are dealing with cancer....:(

    I wish you the very best and my prayers are with you for your treatment against cancer.

    I have read your views, reviews and comments over many topics and would love to see many many more of them over the next few decades.

    All the best :)

    Preetinder
     
  15. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #16
    Thanks! I didn't realize I had posted that publicly myself, so I was surprised to read it in my email update of this thread... I think in my head I was replying to MajorTCS with a reply part about a video and posting in the thread to the info about my experience with Runcore. I must not have divided it as I intended to. Oops... too many pain pills.

    It's unfortunate, but I am dealing with it. Missing my kids is the worst part of it, as I am in treatment away from home, in a different state & city from them.

    Thanks again for the well wishes.

    Cheers,
    Dave
     
  16. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #17
    My sincerest blessing Scottsdale.

    I personally wish you a speedy recovery and hope that you see your kids soon!!!

    Please, be well and stay positive.
     
  17. kenmarered macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #18
    Based on Scottsdale's review on another thread, I ordered the runcore 128gb ssd for my mba rev C and I am so far very unhappy.

    I opened the ssd pack to discover the following:

    • runcore 128gb ssd drive
    • two screwdrivers
    • 10 tiny screws
    • small circuit board with ribbon cable attached
    • the top and bottom parts of an external drive case with two gaps for external cables
    • a transparent plastic thing
    • usb cable

    Okay, so far so good. Time to follow the "Easy 3 step setup & installation" instruction promised on the website and on the pack:

    1. Plug the RunCore SSD drive into an available USB port.
    2. Run the included cloning software.
    3. Install the SSD and enjoy.


    WTF!!!

    I paid hundreds of dollars for this thing and that's all the instructions they provide?? Listen I'm comfortable opening up a machine and tinkering with it with some guidance, but this is crazy.

    I've spent an hour trying to figure out how to get this drive attached to my mba to clone it and have failed so far.

    Based on which connections fit where, I can figure out that the ribbon cable goes into the ssd drive (which side goes up?) although it seems very loose to me. One end of the usb cable attaches to the circuit board and the other to the mba. All of this goes into the enclosure which is closed with the screws (haven't figured out what the transparent widget goes). Needless to say there is no sign of it appearing/being recognized by my mba.

    I plan to follow the instructions on iFixit to change the drive in the mba when/if that time comes.

    Anyone planning to buy a runcore ssd should be very aware that runcore deem your hundreds of dollars to be unworthy of any instructions whatsoever. There are videos on their website but all of the ssds that I can see there seem to have usb connections built-in so are irrelevant to the mba model.

    I'm off to the runcore forums to try and get some help but I've been following the threads here and thought I'd post my feedback.

    I really want this to work so any help would be appreciated. I'm guessing the problem is in my connection between the circuit board and ssd??
     
  18. pugxiwawa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #19
    I agree there is no way to tell which side of ribbon is up. But if the ribbon is connected correctly you will see the light turns green on the little circuit board (with the USB plugged in of course and connecting to the MBA). Your MBA should recognize the drive immediately. If you see the light turns on but don't see the drive in MBA I would suggest you exchange your drive. Same thing happened to me and I had to send the original drive back to the reseller. The replacement works flawlessly.

    Another thing to note from my experience is that if you are going to follow the iFixit guide, you can bypass the part about removing battery. You do not need battery removed to access the hard drive. Hope this helps.

    I also got frustrated the first time I did the upgrade, but it's really not that big of a deal once you get familiar with all the parts. Once you get everything up and running you can really feel the difference this SSD makes. Just think Microsoft Word opens in under 3 seconds and iPhoto opens instantly...

    PM me if you need more instructions on how to do the upgrade. I'll be happy to share my experience.
     
  19. MajorTCS thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Farmington CT
    #20
    kenmarered, I share your pain. I wrote about this weeks ago. I skipped the 1st step (USB). After alot of frustration I paid to have it installed. It is a GEM!!!!! I was able to sell the Samsung on eBAY. However because of the USB/ribbon problem I am not sure I erased it before the sale. Oh well! Send a pm to RUNCORE(Matt) for help.
     
  20. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #21
    I think I will write an instruction sheet and make a video for this. I hate recommending something only to find others are unhappy with something like this.

    Also, anyone with questions can send me a PM and I will try to answer as soon as I can.
     
  21. Mini1000Mac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #22
    I've not had the time to read every post, but as for the drive not being recognized by the enclosure, please try flipping it over.

    The drive may be upside down, thus being plugged in backwards.
     
  22. kenmarered macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #23
    I definitely have not seen a green light.

    I've tried to follow the instructions on the product page at mydigitaldiscount. Either I have a duff cable or I'm not inserting it properly. It seems very loose to the point that it detaches quite easily when I move it - doesn't seem quite right.

    That's a good tip, thanks.

    If I can't get it working in the morning I may just bite the bullet and install the SSD without carbon copying. Presumably in this case I attach a superdrive with snow leopard and boot (& install) from that?

    Thanks so much for the advice. As soon as I get this working I will post my before/after experience.
     
  23. Mini1000Mac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #24
    Some of those connections are ZIF and others are LIF

    http://ziflif.info/ziflif/

    They are different thickness, but same width and pin count

    Hope that helps :)
     
  24. pugxiwawa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #25
    After inserting the ribbon, did you flip down the black piece so it's clamped in place?

    From my experience, the ZIF/LIF? cable that is connected to MBA's HDD does not fit RUNCORE ssd (the cable Apple uses is too wide). I have to use the ribbon cable included with the drive. So if you can't get the ribbon cable to work properly with the ssd and to see the green light on the circuit board, I wouldn't bother opening up the computer.
     

Share This Page