Update SSD firmware (OCZ Vertex 2)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by discosoap, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. discosoap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
    Hi guys,

    just jumped on the SSD bandwagon, and have a question. I bought a 2.5" Vertex 2 60GB, which seems to be doing very well in all the benchmarks. I know OSX has no TRIMM support yet, and there is a lot of rumbling about using the right firmware in order to increase the SSD's lifespan. I read I'll probably have to use Windows in order to update the firmware in OCZ SSD's.

    Can anyone tell me, how I can check the firmware version of the SSD using OSX ? Can it be done, or do you need Windows for this as well ?? I have no idea what firmware it runs, so there is no way to know if it needs updating.

    Moreover, which firmware version do you guys use on the Vertex 2 in Mac OSX ? Are there any advantages you noticed ? Is there no other way than to use Windows for updating ??

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Sankersizzle macrumors 6502a

    Sankersizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Canadadada
    #2
    hey! i'm not really an expert at this sort of thing, so if someone knows better feel free to correct.

    but i think you can tell the firmware you're running by going to about this mac > more info > Serial ATA > Vertex 2 and then look at your revision number. the most recent update is 1.11 and that's what mine says so i assume this is the version of the firmware you're running.
     
  3. Velin macrumors 65816

    Velin

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Hearst Castle
    #3
    I had a question about this as well. Is there any easy way in OSX to update the OCZ Vert. 2 firmware. Or do I have to use Wincrap to do an update.
     
  4. discosoap thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    That seems straightforward enough :) I'll try it once I have it installed (i am waiting for the torxscrewdriver to arrive). Did you need to update yours or did it come with 1.11 out-of-the-box ? And if not, did you have to use Windows, or were you able to load a DOS boot cd on your Mac ? Does the SSD's own garbage collection work, I thought that was only supported in some Mac compatible firmware ?
     
  5. davidcmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #5
  6. discosoap thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    Thanks for the pic ;) Have you ever upgraded your firmware, if yes how ? And how do you do your garbage collection, if any ?
     
  7. davidcmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #7
    Recently I've read an article from AnandTech that OS X doesn't seem to accumulate garbage in SSDs data. They've told that by some way OS X partition table (HFS+ Journaled) works better than Windows NTFS with SSDs.

    In short, the article says that Mac OS X, with it's HFS+ Journaled partition, probably doesn't need TRIM support so much as Windows does.

    So, I just don't use any garbage collection software in Mac OS X.
    To be honest, I didn't even benchmark my SSD in OS X yet. :p

    As for the firmware upgrade, the last time that I've done it was with a PC.
    Some days ago I've read in OCZ forums that Macs can upgrade SSD's firmware just the way PCs do: rebooting with a pendrive connected to the MacBook and booting it's ISO image (the image with the new firmware and the upgrade utility). I can't confirm that.
    A good advise is to take a look at OCZ's official forum: http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?237-OCZ-SSD-Support-for-Linux-and-Apple-OSX

    Edit: According to this topic http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?76052-Something-new-for-the-Mac-crowd, you just need to burn the .ISO image with new firmware and update utility (that you download from OCZ site) to a CD/DVD, insert it in the SuperDrive and reboot the Mac. It should boot the media normally.
    If it doesn't boot, you can hold ALT/OPTION key when you turn the MacBook on to see boot options (Mac OS X, BootCamp Windows, OCZ update utility etc.).
     
  8. Sankersizzle macrumors 6502a

    Sankersizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Canadadada
    #8
    Mine came with 1.11 right out of the box, so I've never had to update it -which means I don't know whether or not you have to update with a mac or pc :p.

    Also, from what I've read, the garbage collection on our Vertex 2's works great. I've noticed no slow down, in real usage or benchmarks!
     
  9. pandamonia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    #9
    That first bit isnt true.
    Its got nothing to do with the OS its more to do with the READ WRITE MODIFY commands on the NAND.

    Garbage collection works automatically. its best to leave your laptop or pc logged off over night to let it work
     
  10. discosoap thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    Would one have to log out before automated garbage collection starts to work, or do i misunderstand ?
     
  11. mr0c macrumors regular

    mr0c

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia, US
    #11
    This works exactly as quoted above, I've done this twice this way. :D
     
  12. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #12
    The first bit is about Anandtech's article which is absolutely correct. You probably mean the second bit, the part about garbage collection. You're correct about that part: garbage collection is something that is done at NAND level.

    In Linux and Windows there is a way to trigger this manually by using some tool (see OCZ forums). Unfortunately there isn't one for OS X but I think you could use the Linux or Windows tool in something like boot camp.

    No, the computer simply has to remain idle for a certain time. Many people have asked on the OCZ forum but it's unclear whether this will also work when the computer is sleeping.
     
  13. rckstwrz macrumors member

    rckstwrz

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #13
    I installed a Vertex 2 into my MacBook Pro, and cloned over a copy of Snow Leopard, but I can't get the Mac to boot from it. I can read and write to it, but not boot. According to system profiler, I'm on "Revision 1.22."

    It's been reformatted via disk utility, and I can read and write from it when I've booted from another disk, so it appears to only not work when booting.

    Have you guys run into this? Any tips?
     
  14. b0rg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #14
    Look here: http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?80011-Vertex-2-in-MacBook-Pro-i7

    Post #2
     
  15. rckstwrz macrumors member

    rckstwrz

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #15
  16. stylinexpat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #16
    Best to always do a clean install. I have a clean install on mine with no problems. Running 2 of the Vertex 2 SSD's running raid in my 13" MBP.
     
  17. gabicava83 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #17
    Did you guys use windows to do the updates?

    I have one with 1.23 and cannot get it to update with Windows 7, will stick it on the MBP when I get home.

    G.
     
  18. madflava54 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #19
    Sorry for the revive of an old thread but I still use this drive. I'm running mountain lion and was wondering if enabling trim is ok with mountain lion. I noticed a little slowing down of the Ssd so I enabled trim and curious of it's okay to do so.
     
  19. Ifti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    The vertex 2 has a SandForce controller that utilises its own garbage collection, so you don't really need to enable TRIM with that drive.
    If you want to go ahead, there is a small app called TRIM Enabler. I use it with my Samsung 830 and it seems to work great.
     

Share This Page