update to 2.1 while roaming - bricked. Ideas?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Since '84, Sep 15, 2008.

  1. Since '84 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #1
    I did the 2.1 update this morning when prompted buy iTunes 8, and after the back up process, iTunes said it is unable to get the information required to activate the phone - check SIM is in. Of course the SIM, is in, and have tried to pull it out and put it back in. Called service provider (O2), who said 'you can't update while abroad, only when you're in your own country'.
    If this is true, it's a bit sad that a global product that actually prompts me to do this update then locks me out completely. Can't even access apps or anything till I get back. Am on the first day of a holiday overseas and now no phone. Great.
    Anyone know of any work arounds?
    Thanks

    (original iPhone)
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Just pointing out the obvious, but if it's an EDGE iPhone, you can use Pwnage....
     
  3. MrMax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #3
    Should be possible

    If you are abroad, you can still activate.

    For 1st Gen iPhone: Ensure that Data Roaming is turned on (Settings>General>Network), then turn the phone off, connect it to a computer with itunes 8, power it on. Wait 5 minutes. It should activate.

    For iPhone 3G: Ensure Data Roaming is turned on, and 3G is turned off. Power the phone off, connect it to a computer with iTUnes 8 and power the phone on. Wait 5 minutes.

    Enjoy!
     
  4. Since '84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #4
    Would love it if I could, but the phone is not activated any more. The only thing that shows up is the 'slide for emergency' slider, and the icons telling me to plug it into iTunes.
    It is also showing the 'airplane mode' icon, the lock, and the battery icons across the top.
    When I slide the slider, I get an emergency keypad, nothing more.
    My iPhone is not jailbroken or pwnaged, it is still legit.
     
  5. MrMax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #5
    Do you have access to a computer with iTunes 8? I recommend you connect it to that and allow it 5 minutes to activate.

    If that will not happen, you may have to restore the phone. I stress though, this will erase the contents of the phone and if you choose to update and restore at the same time, you will be unable to restore your backup to the phone.
     
  6. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #6
    To get past that don't you just have to connect it up to iTunes and then soon it should work abit after?
     
  7. Since '84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #7
    http://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/attach/jpg.gif

    This is the alert I get when I plug my iPhone into iTunes8. I cannot proceed past this point and I have no way to access 'Settings' on the phone as it is in Emergency call mode and won't activate. Has been working fine until I tried to install this update.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. iVoid macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #8
    Does your mac have an internet connection when you try to activate?
     
  9. Since '84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #9
    yes, connected to net on stable fast adsl I always use.

    The O2 tech support guy said I am probably locked out for trying to update whilst overseas, but it was my suggestion and he just said 'yeah yeah, that's what it is'. He didn't sound too confident. 5 more days with no phone/iPod :(
    - if it even works when I get back there.
     

Share This Page