Update to newest MBP for audio recording?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wrx07, Aug 19, 2009.

1. wrx07 macrumors newbie

My Macbook Pro is 22 months old (Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz, upgraded to 4GB RAM) and I'm considering updating to the newest version. The laptop crapped out about a month ago, and Apple completely replaced the logic board for no fee. However, the battery is beginning to no longer hold its charge; according to CoconutBattery it's running at 33% efficiency.

I'm a student, so I regularly use Word (et al) for school work, but I also do quite a bit of songwriting/audio recording via Pro Tools, Logic and Cubase. Can anyone comment on what kind of specific improvements I would see in regards to audio performance with a laptop upgrade? Perhaps someone made a similar transition.

If I upgrade now I am eligible for a free iPod touch, which I can in turn sell (already have an iPhone)...BUT, the newest Macbook Pro's no longer have Firewire 400 ports. With my current MBP I have an interface connected to the 800 port and an external drive connected to the 400 port. But if I upgrade, I will choose the 500GB 7200 RPM version which will hold most of my plug-in libraries.

How much is a fair asking price for my current MBP with the details I've listed? It's in perfect cosmetic condition as I've always had it in a Vyper case, but the battery is pooping out.

I use quite a bit of RAM-intensive plug-ins like Omnisphere and Ivory, so the more juice I can get out of a computer, the better. Right now, I get sputtering when recording just a handful of tracks with plug-ins.

Wait? or Buy Now?

2. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

MWPULSE