Update to OS 3? Can't decide

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by AC-40, Oct 1, 2016.

1. AC-40 macrumors newbie

AC-40

I'm new to the Apple Watch and the forum. I picked up a 42mm Gen 0. I'm tempted to upgrade to Watch OS 3, but I don't want the battery life to drop any worse than it is. What do you guys think?

2. mark824 macrumors member

It is much faster than 2.0. I had a the original watch and upgraded and makes a huge difference and battery was not affected.

3. tromboneaholic macrumors 65816

tromboneaholic

Watch is faster with OS 3. A lot of people considered it somewhat slow with the first 2 OS versions

4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

I second this. I have an original watch, and OS 3 sped it up quite a bit while having no noticeable effect on battery life.

5. AC-40 thread starter macrumors newbie

AC-40

Thank you for the quick responses. I'll likely perform the upgrade tonight.

6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

It does take some time, so don't plan on it being a 10 minute thing right before bed. I think mine took about an hour from start to finish.

7. TheIntruder macrumors 6502a

TheIntruder

I'd update to 3 just for the structural changes with the dock, control center, quick change faces, etc.

I jumped into Watch ownership with v3 and only have limited experience with 1 and 2, but the older setup dedicating the button to the friend picker thing never made sense to me.

8. Relentless Power macrumors P6

Relentless Power

It may be faster with Watch OS3, but if you search the forum, it's been reported faster battery drainage has been an issue for many Watch OS3 users. Likely that Watch OS3 keeps applications running in the background, which contributes to the speed when opening them at a faster rate.

9. testcard, Oct 2, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2016

testcard macrumors 68030

testcard

Absolutely no battery issues with my Series 0 and Watch OS3. Battery life is as good as, if not better than, OS2.

10. dave2010 macrumors regular