Update to stock firmware

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Speeeddy, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. Speeeddy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    #1
    I have an iPhone 3gs 4.1(jialbroken) RUNNING on baseband 6.15.00

    If I update it to 5.1.1 using Stock Firmware, will the iPhone be bricked, nonoperational?
    Or will it be okay if I flash the baseband 6.15.00 again?


    Cheers to the community :D
     
  2. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #2
    You would need to create a custom firmware for 5.1.1 by either using SnowBreeze, Redsn0w or PwnageTool.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Having the ipad bb makes it so you can never update to stock firmware.
    It will get stuck at the Apple logo.
    You can only update or restore to custom firmware. No other option.
     
  4. Speeeddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    #4
    What if I try to update? Can it be brought back into working conditions?
    When updating with 5.1.1 it gives errors :/

    And iFaith won't even retrieve my blobs saying that my iPhone is 24kpwn JB (Even though its serial begins with MC :O)
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    No.
    You CANNOT update to any stock firmware.
    You have to create a custom 5.1.1 ipsw, put your iphone in pwned dfu and restore using that custom firmware.
    You dont need any blobs for 5.1.1 since its the latest firmware out right now.
     
  6. Speeeddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    #6
    What if I tried to? (I did try to)
    It always gave errors, but.... It is stuck at apple boot logo

    Can it be fixed? :((
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    If you tried to its NOT going to work.
    What part dont you get? You can only restore/update to custom firmware.
    It can be fixed, you just gotta make a custom 5.1.1 using redsnow and restore using that.
     

Share This Page