Update your Sprint iPhone's Profile / PRL by dialing: ##873283#

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TheRealHershey, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. TheRealHershey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #1
    Just called to complain about the 50-250k 3G data speeds everywhere in Idaho (they've been this way for a year now), and got a super-duper canned response of: it'll be fixed in the next 48 hours, and we'll call you back then. WHATEVER.

    Anyhow, I got the code to dial and start the update process: ##873283#
     
  2. Arnezie macrumors 65816

    Arnezie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #2
    And that does what considering the profile and prl would have updated when you activated your phone ?????? And your telling people to do this because of what ???? :rolleyes:
     
  3. Frankied22 macrumors 68000

    Frankied22

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I just tried it. Didn't do jack.
     
  4. TheRealHershey thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #4
    Yeah, I did it, too, but ended up with the same PRL.
     
  5. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Exactly, a new phone will have the most recent and updates are autopushed, when it changes.
     
  6. bobouches macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #6
    Sprint network issea

    Hi all,
    Today nov 30, 11 I have problem with Sprint network all day. My iPhone shows EDGE connection tO network, so I called CS and been told to reset network and then dial ##873283#. I asked friend of mine who worked for Sprint and replayed to me - never do that until you want to lock your phone.
    So sprint have an issue with 3G network, if you get frustrated find place with WiFi and wait till they fix this problem. Otherwise just wait.
     
  7. joeshmo2010 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    sprint doesn't have an EDGE network. they have 3g or 1x (the 'o' symbol on iPhones)
     
  8. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    And what's is going to lock, exactly?
     
  9. marine0816 macrumors 6502a

    marine0816

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    USA
  10. scaredpoet, Dec 11, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011

    scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #10
    It's extremely rare that a PRL update will improve network speeds. In most cases it's just a placebo that they try to give you to shut up anyone who complains and get them off the phone with customer service.

    PRL = Preferred Roaming List. It's useful when you're outside of Sprint's home coverage and roaming on, say, Verizon. And it might also help your phone find additional pilot channels if Sprint's recently added new frequencies in your area, though it'll mostly figure that out on its own eventually. But an updated PRL will not overcome the inherent limitations of the network.

    Don't get me wrong: it's a good idea to be up to date, because Sprint does rely quite a bit on roaming partner coverage and there might still be remnants of the old "affiliate" network IDs on Sprint's (now-)native network. But no PRL update is going to speed up Sprint's network, nor is it likely to be fixed through anything software-based on your phone. Only Sprint can fix their network, through backhaul investment and better use of spectrum on the network side of things.
     
  11. SporkLover macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #11
    That's not true. I just ran that update and my phone is still unlocked.
     
  12. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #12
    old thread, but i did that on my roomates phone.. and his went from .5 mb download to .9 mbps! almost doubled.. still slow but yeah. thanks.
     
  13. unowen macrumors newbie

    unowen

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    NYC, Eliz. Bay, NSW, and 'Hell-A'
    #13
    It isn't for everyone to do, and it isn't something which need be done often.

    It is something which certain people - with specific types of issues can do in order to (possibly) overcome certain problems.

    I was given this information about 2years ago, when my iPhone (4S) was having problems interacting with my Airrave.

    In this situation, it did help.

    It isn't going to damage your phone, but; it's something you should first ask your carrier if you should try.
     
  14. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #14
    Uhm…three year old thread. ;)
     
  15. Xenomorph macrumors 65816

    Xenomorph

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis
    #15
    I'll bump this crazy-old thread, as well.

    A user just brought in their Sprint iPhone. Full bars. Yet, calls would fail. They updated their OS, reset network settings, and even called Sprint to make sure the phone was still activated.

    Nothing worked, until I dialed ##873283#

    The connection reset, and he could suddenly get on the network and make calls.

    So no, even as of 2016 and iOS 9.3.1, PRL information and activation can still NOT be set up correctly.
     
  16. ChronicMistress macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    #16

    Hello
    I am a sales representative with an extension company of Sprint which shall remain unnamed, and I am actually familiar with that code. As far as I know, the ##873283# code is primarily used for PRL updates on iphones. ##25327# does a subscriber settings reset which will not delete any data from your phone and instead "reset" your service, as it does not cause you to lose your account or service, and it is also primarily used for iphones. There is one other code that I know about, and that is the ##72786# code also used for a subscriber settings reset but for any android phones instead. I use the reset to activate phones that have had some sort of change to the account after being activated or before the first activation. Usually though, if there is an issue that I am unfamiliar with or do not have the reach to on my end, I call our dealer customer service and they can update the account on their end, and I can refresh the device on mine, so if it still does not work, you may need to go into a store of your carrier to see what they can do or call customer service yourself.

    Hope this was helpful



    -A Sales Rep
     
  17. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68000

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #17
    Did you just really answer a post made 7 years ago? Wow
     
  18. ChronicMistress macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    #18
    --- Post Merged, Jun 20, 2018 ---
    Yes I did because I was actually looking for the difference between the ##25327# code and the other one. I figured it'd be helpful to a sales rep like me who was trying to find the difference between the codes.



    -A sales representative
     

Share This Page