*UPDATED* 16GB RAM in Core iX MBP? Should be possible!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hellhammer, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #1
    Been doing some research about this and I've found out that the Core iX MBPs should support up to 16GB of RAM unless Apple has limited it in the firmware. How? Few days ago I was browsing in Eurocom's site and found their latest laptop, X8100 Leopard. As you can see in the link, they offer up to 2x8GB of RAM though the price isn't nice, 1754$. Since then, I have sent them couple emails about this and they did confirm that the 16GB fully works and that their laptops use regular Intel chipsets, just like Core iX MBPs do. There are also some others offering 16GB but those are usually 4x4GB. However, he wasn't able to talk about other manufacturers so he could not confirm that it works in MBP for example.

    I've sent an email to Intel about this but haven't got an answer yet. So, anybody want to be out guinea pig? :p
     
  2. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #2
    I kinda thought you would take care of that :D
     
  3. jclardy macrumors 68040

    jclardy

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #3
    I just upgraded to 8GB which more than suits what I use the machine for. Considering the price difference of $185 for 8GB from Newegg vs $1700 for 16GB I don't see anyone really wanting to make the jump, especially considering you could get 8GB with a large SSD for that kind of money.

    I bet it will probably work, but I don't know anyone who would make the leap. But if you want to try feel free to let us know :D
     
  4. Hellhammer thread starter Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    People used to say that about 8GB. Before that, they said the same about 4GB and before that, 2GB. May not be worth it now but future software is just RAM hungrier than old so in few years, that 16GB may be worth it
     
  5. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    If NewEgg sells them I'd be inclined to try them out.

    That's only if they come with free shipping.
     
  7. Hellhammer thread starter Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    UPDATE: Got a response from Intel saying that the memory controller which is integrated into the CPU does not support more than 8GB. 16GB may be installed but only 8GB of that would be utilized. I did sent an email to Eurocom asking that is that 16GB fully recognized.

    At least for now, this doesn't sound too good
     
  8. dnenciu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #8
    Ok let me clarify it for you. :)

    There are two intel cpu lines the dual core arrandale and the quad core Clarksfield. Both cary the i7 name but with diff codes (dual core is 6xxM and quad is xxxQ). They have diff chipsets, the dual core has only two ram slots that can go up to 2x4GB = 8Gb, the quad cores have 4 memory slots that go up to 4x4Gb = 16Gb.

    i7 quad use more power and get hot and can't be used in a slim laptop like the mbp just read any of the forum posts related to hp envy.

    The eurocom would support 16Gb with the xxxQ quad core cpu and 8Gb max with the 6xxM dual core line if they say otherwise they don't know what they are talking about.

    Hope this clarifies it for you. :)
     
  9. Hellhammer thread starter Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    According to Intel, even Clarksfield supports only 8GB of RAM. However, it supports 1333MHz DDR3 while Arrandale supports only 1066MHz. They both use the same chipsets though. You can have 4 RAM slots with both CPUs but again, only 8GB will be recognized according to Intel

    BTW, I got reply from Eurocom saying that they haven't tested 16GB yet as they haven't got any 8GB modules. When they get them, the guy promised to let me know how it works
     
  10. MrFlynn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    #10
    This would be very impressive news. It would also mean that current gen iMacs could handle 32gb of ram.

    Imagine a 16 gig i7 MBP with SSD...sheesh.
     
  11. Hellhammer thread starter Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    As far as I've read, only i7-9xx and Xeons support more than 16GB. There are few LGA 1156 mobos with 6 memory slots but even they support only 16GB. I'm not sure has anyone tried more than 16GB but at least it looks like it's the maximum.
     
  12. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    Excellent: they're selling a configuration they can't build nor do they do if it works? :eek:
     
  13. Hellhammer thread starter Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #13
    Looks like they are lol. It works but only half of it can be used :p I'm not trusting Intel support too much on this though, I doubt they actually know more than is said in their site. I guess most of the questions they get are like "my CPU is 2.66GHz, what model is it and what can I upgrade it to?" :D
     
  14. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    Did you email their support or product pre-sales support? I did the latter and they forwarded my question an engineer who gave me a good answer :D Of course my question wasn't about the RAM, but about their SSDS—it's always worth a try.
     
  15. Hellhammer thread starter Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #15
    I just emailed their normal support and got links to their product pages and they just said "see, it's 8GB there, why can't you believe it?" :D I even included few sources about 16GB, for example the Eurocom lappy. Good point in the pre-sales support, you have a link or email address that you could share?
     
  16. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    http://www.intel.com/training/na/emailform_ww.htm?iid=intelfb+body_prodsupport

    It says it takes them 2 business days to respond—it took them 2 business to reply to say they would forward the question to an engineer, who did respond albeit in about a week and half.

    Good luck :)
     
  17. dnenciu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #17
    You are right I did some further research you are right:
    http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=43125&processor=i7-840QM&spec-codes=SLBMP

    It says max memory supported 8Gb.
     

Share This Page