Updated Activator, now volume popup will not disappear

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by undergroundHACK, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. undergroundHACK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #1
    After installing the most recent Activator update this morning, I've determined that update has caused a problem. Now when I press a volume button, the volume (ringer) popup will not fade out/disappear.

    I've tested and removed some apps - determining Acticator is the culprit.

    Any idea how I can revert to a previous version of Activator?

    SOLVED. See post #21.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    I don't know how to prevent this, but I have it too. And I can only get rid of it with a respring.
     
  3. undergroundHACK thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #3
    Well I have iRealSMS installed, so when I press a volume key, the volume popup appears. When I press the popup, it opens the iRealSMS app. I can then close that app and the volume popup is gone. But I gotta get this fixed!

    iPhone 3G
    (JB) OS: 3.1.3
     
  4. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    I do not have this problem. I do have biteSMS 5.0 installed if that makes any difference.

    I am running the current version of MobileSubstrate. Are you?

    S-
     
  5. FamiliaPhoto macrumors 6502a

    FamiliaPhoto

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    Don't have the problem here. Have 3209 of Mobile Substrate and the most recent Bite SMS. Works just fine.
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    The problem isn't with Bite SMS. It's with Activator.
     
  7. kre62 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #7
    Working fine for me as well, with latest activator and Bite. Looks like iRealSMS is your problem, ditch that and get on the bite train.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    But I don't have iRealSMS or any other SMS program.
     
  9. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #9
    updated last night mine is fine weird I also don't have bitesms just fyi!
     
  10. undergroundHACK thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #10
    I removed iRealSMS and the problem remained. Until I removed Activator. This morning I had (2) updates in Cydia:
    1) Activator
    2) Rotation Inhibitor

    It's NOT the iRealSMS app. It has nothing to do with it. It's only providing me a way out - for now. As I said, I confirmed it's Activator.

    (I'm running MobileSubstrate 0.9.3228-1)
     
  11. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #11
    I am running these on my iPhone 4:

    Activator 1.4.4
    Rotation Inhibitor 1.0.1
    Mobile Substrate 0.9.3228-1

    I have no problems.

    S-
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    I have a theory: The volume pop-up doesn't disappear if Activator has an action assigned to weather or not tapping to volume pop-up does anything. It seems to be that way for my iPhone.
     
  13. undergroundHACK thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #13
    I'm not sure why it's happening.

    Question:
    Is the abaility to add an activation (with Activator) on the "Volume Button | Display Tap" a new feature?


    Again, even with iRealSMS removed, this issue still occurs - the volume popup will not disappear.

    I emailed the issue to the author of Activator.
     
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    No, I think the only new feature in 1.4.4 is double tap the lockscreen clock.
     
  15. Mengels7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #15
    I have the same issue with iFile, though it might have been fixed in an older update. You've tried clearing all programs out of your fast switch menu? My issue is solved when I force iFile to quit.
     
  16. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #16
    I'm running 3.1.3 and nothing is backgrounded.
     
  17. TruckdriverSean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #17
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    So Intell, you and \"undergroundHACK\" are both using iOS 3.1.3 then.

    Is anyone seeing this on something other than iOS 3.1.3?
     
  18. Mengels7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #18
    I'm updating Activator just to check...

    Aaaand nope, still fine. No issues. (OS 4.0)
     
  19. Selophane macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #19
    I'm suffering the same issue on my 3GS running 3.1.3, and only after the latest Activator update (1.4.4). The volume dialog refuses to disappear unless I open the iPod controls and move the now playing volume slider.

    Hope a bug fix is in the works, as it is getting quite annoying. Any other workarounds, or perhaps a way to roll back to an earlier version of Activator for the time being?
     
  20. Kingsfan830 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    #20
    I too am experiencing the Volume popup issue. I found that if you switch the silent switch off and on it usually goes away. Not a permanent solution but at least its a quick temporary work around.
     
  21. undergroundHACK thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #21
    ISSUE RESOLVED! Update to Activator 1.4.5

    GOOD NEWS. I just received a reply to my email that I wrote to the developer. He has posted an update to Activator (1.4.5) and he says this issue has been fixed.

    I just upgraded and tested it and YES it is resolved. Cool :cool:
     
  22. Selophane macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #22
    Ahh, thanks for getting in touch with the developer! I too can confirm the issue is fixed with 1.4.5!

    Cheers! ;)
     

Share This Page