Updated, and now sound/volume issues

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by NativeTxn, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. NativeTxn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    #1
    I updated my late 2013 15" rMBP to Yosemite last night, and it appeared that everything was working well.

    However, this morning when I started the computer and began working on it while it was attached via HMDI cables to my dual monitor setup, I noticed that the sound was not working properly.

    Sound is/was not an issue when I was just using the laptop by itself last night. But today, the volume icon in the menu bar is grayed out and when you click on it, it shows that it is at full volume. When I use the fn + volume up button on my wireless Apple keyboard, it brings up the icon that used to come up, but in stead of adjusting the volume it just shows a circle with a line through it under the speaker picture (it will not adjust up or down).

    When I go into settings-sound, it will not let me adjust the actual volume there either.

    I unplugged both monitors and the sounds worked again just fine, with the ability to adjust it either with the fn+up/down feature, or using the volume iconic the menu bar.

    When I was on Mavericks, I never had any issues with adjusting the volume while using the dual monitor setup.

    So, I don't know if this is a Yosemite bug, or if the update default a setting(s) that I don't know about, or if it is something else all together.

    Anyone run across a similar situation?

    Any thoughts/suggestions?

    Any help is appreciated!

    [Update: I just restarted the computer while it was attached to the dual monitors. During the restart process, it made the "startup chime" sound as it always has, but I am still having the above issues with the volume after reset.]
     
  2. Martyimac macrumors 6502a

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #2
    Don't know if this will help but I had to go in to the settings and re designate my desktop speakers as the default output and now sound is working okay. I had the same problem you did before I did this.
     
  3. NativeTxn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    #3
    Yep - that worked. Thanks!
     
  4. geoff5093 macrumors 68020

    geoff5093

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Dover, NH
    #4
    I was stumped by this for a while today as well after migrating. Going to the sound output settings in system preferences and switching it to the internal speakers fixed it.
     
  5. menano macrumors regular

    menano

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Neverland
    #5
    Ia m also having a small volume issue on my newMacPro - if I plug my speakers I can't control the volume through the keyboard. With the internal or display speakers it works fine, but with my speakers I get this icon (attachment)

    Any ideas on how to fix this?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #6
    Unplug the external speakers and do a PRAM Reset. This sometimes fix sound issues.
     
  7. menano macrumors regular

    menano

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Neverland

Share This Page