Updated LIST of known WEBCLIP Bookmark Icons

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SFC Archer, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #1
    Wanted to start this thread to address and inform all of those out there that would like to add nice clean Webclip Icons to their Home Pages on their iPhone/iTouches

    In the weeks to come webmasters will be adding these webclip icons to their mobile website's and this thread can be used to consolidate for everyone.


    PLEASE USE THIS FORMAT WHEN POSTING your WEB LINK:
    Name of Webpage (category): URL

    This will help me keep this up to date as I test each link given to make sure it works as of the last date updated. If one fails to create, then check the URL that you entered and also give it 10-15 secs to load if on edge, these have been tested.

    Good Luck Everyone!


    UPDATED and COMPILED by DAREMO (Thank You) and Myself: Moving these to the first page for ease of use.
    This list has been updated to: Post 183 Page 8 10 April 2008

    360 Style (XBox): http://www.360style.net/
    360 Sync (XBox): http://www.360sync.com/
    4 in a Row : http://metasparcsw.com/c4/c4.html
    Accue Weather (Weather w/Radar): http://www.accuweather.com/
    Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/
    Apple (Web Apps): http://www.apple.com/webapps/
    Apple Geeks Web Comic : www.applegeeks.com
    Apple Insider : www.appleinsider.com
    Are you Watching This? : http://areyouwatchingthis.com/
    Ars Technica : http://arstechnica.com/index.ars
    Battlefleet : http://www.rogerkenny.com/battlefleet/
    Baby Got Mac: http://www.babygotmac.com/
    Bank of America (Bank): http://www.bofa.com/
    BBC News : http://www.bbc.co.uk/news
    BBC UK : http://www.bbc.co.uk/
    BBC UK Beta : http://www.bbc.co.uk/home/beta
    Be The Movie Star (Talent Search: http://www.bethemoviestar.com/
    Blabbermouth : http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com/blabbermouth.net/
    Black Hole, The (Tech/Politics): http://www.theblackhole.us/forum/
    Broom Videos : http://iphone.broomvideos.com
    BT Phonebook : http://themacbox.co.uk/iphone/pbook/
    CBS News: http://www.cbsnews.com/iphone/#___1__
    Cinema Listings : http://themacbox.co.uk/iphone/cinema/
    CNN : http://www.cnn.com
    Country Squire Restraint : www.country-squire.net
    CPark Photography : www.cparkphotography.com/blog.html
    Daring Fireball: http://daringfireball.net/
    DB Stock: http://dbstalk.com/
    Digg: http://digg.com/iphone#_stories
    Engadget : www.engadget.com
    eSudoku : http://sudoku.rectang.com/iphone/#_home
    Everything iCafe : http://www.everythingicafe.com/
    Facebook: http://www.iphone.facebook.com
    Fat Wallet : http://www.fatwallet.com/
    Favorite Healthcare Staffing (Medical Staffing): http://www.favoritestaffing.com/
    Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/
    Fluther : http://iphone.fluther.com
    Food Network : http://www.iphone.foodnetwork.com
    Fox News : http://www.foxnews.com
    Gear Live : www.gearlive.com
    Gizmodo : http://gizmodo.com/
    Glint (Sudoku Game): http://www.kenbrewster.com/glint
    Google : http://www.google.com/m
    Guardian Newspaper UK : http://www.guardian.co.uk
    Hahlo: http://hahlo.com/
    Hotwire: http://www.hotwire.com/
    ibeep : http://www.cmpdesigns.com/ibeep/#_root
    iCali : The blog of Cali Lewis : http://icali.tv/
    iDecisive : iDecisive.com
    iLounge : www.ilounge.com
    iLounge iPhone portal : http://www.ilounge.com/iphone/
    IMDb Mobile : http://nolanbrown.org/imdb/
    iNetwork Test : iNetworktest.com
    iPipes (Games): http://themacbox.co.uk/iphone/pipes/
    iRadio: http://iradioapp.com/
    iRovr : http://www.irovr.com/
    iTouch Map (Map App): http://www.itouchmap.com/
    iWeb Saver (Book Mark Web Pages): http://iwebsaver.com/
    Island Dog (xbox Games) : http://www.theislanddog.com
    Jonathan Block (Music): http://www.synthblock.com/
    Joke on the Run (Not sure of title of site): http://jkontherun.blogs.com/
    Joy of Tech : http://joyoftech.com
    Joy of Tech Comic : http://www.joyoftech.com/joyoftech/index.html
    Kainjow : Kevin Wojniak site : kainjow.com
    Lexicon : http://www.fatfreegames.com/game/frozen_lexicon/
    Lightroom Forums (Adobe Forum Page): http://www.lightroomforums.net/
    Limited Edition iPhone: http://limitededitioniphone.com/
    Loot Ninja : www.loot-ninja.com
    Mac Daily New (Mac News): http://www.macdailynews.com/
    Mac Rumors : http://www.macrumors.com/
    Matt Bauman Racing (Bike Racing): http://mattbaumanracing.com/
    Major League Baseball (Choose your team): http://wap.mlb.com/
    Meebo: https://wwwl.meebo.com/#FrontPage
    Megan Jacks (Photography): http://www.megganjacks.com/
    Meta Filter: www.metafilter.com
    Metasquares: http://www.metatools.com/iphonemsq/
    Miami Herald: http://www.miamiherald.com/
    Michigan State Spartan Fans: http://www.spartantailgate.com/
    Michigan State University: http://www.msu.edu/
    Mind Dojo: http://www.dbelement.com/md/
    Mind The App (UK Tube App): http://www.mindtheapp.com/tubes/#_home
    Mobile Break: http://m.break.com/homepage.php
    Movie Tickets: http://iphone.movietickets.com/
    Movies App (Tickets): http://www.moviesapp.com/
    Music Radio (Radio Stations): http://musicradio.com/
    My Mile Marker: http://mymilemarker.com/m
    Newsgator (RSS Reader): http://m.newsgator.com/
    Net Flix (Video Rental): http://www.netflix.com/
    Novembers Doom: www.novembersdoom.com
    NY Times Mobile: http://www.mobile.nytimes.com
    O2 MMS Viewer (UK MMS Viewer): http://www.iapps.co.uk/o2mms
    Penny Arcade: www.penny-arcade.com
    Pentax Forums : www.pentaxforums.com
    Planet Battlefield : http://PlanetBattlefield.com
    Pownce : http://m.pownce.com
    Questionable Content : www.questionablecontent.net
    Rashed Talukder: http://www.rashedtalukder.com/
    Road Runner Records : http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com
    SeeqPod Music : http://www.seeqpod.com/iphone/#_home
    Sentimental Silver by Christij : http://www.christij.com
    Slashdot: http://slashdot.org/
    SlickDeals: http://m.slickdeals.net/
    Southwest Airlines: http://www.southwest.com/
    Tipr : http://tipr.mobi/
    Tiptapp : http://www.sixteenseven.com/tiptapp/
    ToDo Pub : http://www.Todopub.com
    TrackTapp : http://www.sixteenseven.com/tracktapp/#___1__
    TUAW (Apple Web Log): http://www.tuaw.com/
    UK Trains : http://themacbox.co.uk/iphone/trains/
    Vail: http://www.vailsys.com/
    Vimeo : http://www.vimeo.com/
    Wall Street Journal: http://online.wsj.com/public/us
    Weather Bug : http://iphone.weatherbug.com/iphone/
    Weather Underground : http://i.wund.com/
    Wells Fargo (Bank): http://www.wf.com/
    Western Kentucky University: http://www.wku.edu/
    Wikipedia : http://www.wikipedia.org/
    Wiktionary: http://www.wiktionary.org/
    Woot : www.woot.com
    Yahoo Mobile : http://beta.m.yahoo.com
    Yelp: http://www.yelp.com/
     
  2. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
  3. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
  4. lokey macrumors regular

    lokey

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #4
  5. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #5
    How would you go about making one for an iWebsite uploaded with .mac?
     
  6. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #6
    From: http://developer.apple.com/iphone/devcenter/designingcontent.html

    iPhone and iPod touch allow a user to save a WebClip bookmark to your site on their Home Screen.

    To specify a bookmark icon for all pages of a web site, place a PNG image named "apple-touch-icon.png" at the root directory of your web server - similar to the "favicon.ico" for site icons.

    To override the site bookmark icon on a specific web page, insert a <link> element similar to <link rel="apple-touch-icon" href="/customIcon.png"/> within the <head> element of the page.

    The bookmark icon dimensions should be 57x57 pixels. If the icon is a different size it will be scaled and cropped to fit.

    Safari will automatically composite the icon with the standard "glassy" overlay so it looks like a built-in iPhone or iPod application.


    Though I haven't done it I would assume you can complete this process and then add it to the files in your .Mac sites folder on your iDisk, but since I am still using .Mac templates from 4 yrs ago and have yet to even play with iWeb I would hope someone else can fill in the blanks better.
     
  7. waterskier2007 macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #7
    is there a way to do this without knowing web stuff. i have an iweb site and would like to make a bookmark how would i go about this in an easy way?
     
  8. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #8
    Thanks, I'll have a look when I can. :)
     
  9. waterskier2007 macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #9
    if anyone could let me know of an easy step by step way to create a webclip image for my iweb site. i am on a mac using iweb through .mac to create the site. i already have 57x57 image titled and ready to go
     
  10. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
  11. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #11
    I don't think you can use iWeb for this. Does your website files show up in your iDisk? You could upload the file that way.
     
  12. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #12
    ^There is a whole other article on creating webclips for websites!

    Facebook will be adding a web clip soon!
     
  13. msmith2112 macrumors 6502

    msmith2112

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    #14
    How about Telekinesis? Is there a way to put a custom icon on my computer somewhere and have it show up?
     
  14. Benjic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #15

    OOH, I just did this. Open up the package contents for Iphone Remote.app, and go to Contents/Resources/WWW. And drop the png in the root of the WWW folder. Worked like a charm for me.
     
  15. insocal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #16

    Thanks so much for the heads up on the Beejive icon! I've been zooming/pinching in order to get 'something' of an icon but they've all sucked! HA! Wish I could figure out how to make them on my own but I'm confused about the apple-touch part....would I just rename that apple-iPhone? And do I need a photobucket account to reference/upload the icons?
    much appreciated for any help and thanks again!
     
  16. waterskier2007 macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #17
    yeah they are in my idisk i just dont know where to drop the file
     
  17. msmith2112 macrumors 6502

    msmith2112

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    #18
    Awesome!! I'll try this when i get home!
     
  18. MattsxB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
  19. PatrickC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #20
    Fox News mobile now has a WebClip Bookmark Icon.
     
  20. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #21
    yeah but not the mobile site. What gives?
     
  21. Justin205 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, AL (Roll Tide!)
    #22
    Ahhh, awesome! It looks great!
     
  22. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #23
    it didnt come up on mine. =(
     
  23. waterskier2007 macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #24
    still have no idea since no on seems to answer. i have a mac, am using iweb with a .mac subscription. i have the picture ready i need to know where to place it in my idisk????
     
  24. msmith2112 macrumors 6502

    msmith2112

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    #25
    Here's my custom web clipping icon for Telekinesis. It looks great once the iPhone curves the edges and adds the gloss!! Feel free to use it!

    [​IMG]

    (It's 158x158 b/c i read where it will actually scale down and turn out crisper than 57x57)
     

Share This Page