Updated Time Capsule opened, server-grade hard drive nowhere to be found

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by hitekalex, Jun 25, 2011.

  1. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    I don't know why anyone is surprised. Apple products are simply not designed for enterprise use, period.
     
  2. hitekalex thread starter macrumors 68000

    hitekalex

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    #3
    Well, the remarkable thing here is that Apple's TC spec states:

    Storage
    2TB or 3TB Serial ATA server-grade hard disk drive​


    There is nothing "server-grade" about WD "Caviar Green" drives.
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Again, who cares? As if the hard drive makes the Time Capsule an enterprise network device? No.
     
  4. gramirez2012 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    #5
    Does anyone know why they would use a 3.5" desktop sized hard drive as opposed to a 2.5" laptop sized drive? Wouldn't they want to make the device as small as possible?
     
  5. bilbo--baggins macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    It certainly looks like a false statement.

    It's fair enough when they word things carefully that might be interpreted to be what people 'want' to hear. Maybe that's what they're doing here - perhaps we are understanding this to mean an 'enterprise' grade drive such as the WD RE4.

    I assume the hard drives in the Mac Mini Server are 2.5" drives - and no doubt they're not enterprise grade drives.

    Even if the statement might not be legally wrong, it's certainly very misleading. I wonder what Apple would consider a non-server grade drive to be?
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Because 3.5" drives come in 2TB and 3TB size, while 2.5" drives max out at 1TB. The Mac Mini server uses two 500GB 2.5" drives for 1TB of storage.

    B
     
  7. hitekalex thread starter macrumors 68000

    hitekalex

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    #8
    MANY people care that Apple makes misleading statements on their product spec pages :rolleyes:
     
  8. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #9
    Cost and capacity.
     
  9. man02195 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    #10
    can you swap drives in an time capsule, or do they have apple firmware?
    ah, i goggle it because someone will probably tell me to search...
     
  10. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #11
  11. neteng101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #12
    So in reading everything - does the new Time Capsules have the upgraded radios of the AEBS? Something tells me maybe not?
     
  12. hitekalex thread starter macrumors 68000

    hitekalex

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    #13
    What makes you think the latest AEBS has upgraded radios? There have been no confirmations of that being the case.
     
  13. neteng101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #14

Share This Page