Updated to 10.10.2, messed up log in window

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by forza69, Jan 31, 2015.

  1. forza69 macrumors 6502a

    forza69

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    Video here

    Anyone else experiencing this? Also keeps freezing when using Safari sometimes and restarts. Has never happened before update :/
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    I watched your video. It shows a login. What is "messed up" or different about that?

    Check that any extensions that you use in Safari are all up to date.
     
  3. forza69 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    forza69

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    Before the update everything was proportional. Font size. Images. The login is now blown up and there's 2 black bars top and bottom of the screen. It wasn't like that pre-update. I -know- it's not a big deal, but, I don't like that it's not the way it was before.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    I almost never use the login window at boot (leave it on automatic login), so didn't notice any difference at first.
    You have your Restart, Sleep, and Shutdown buttons turned off, I suppose.
    You can change that setting in your Users & Groups/Login Options.
    That's what I suggest is to turn that option back on, then restart to see if there is any change in the login window.
    Or, check your Displays, and make sure your settings are Default for your display, and not scaled.
    Try a restart again, to see if that makes your login normal for you.
    You can always change your display settings to what you prefer (if it is different), and then just expect that the login window looks slightly different now.
    Sometimes changing the display settings will "reset" the login window, and then it will stay "fixed" for you. I can't tell you that really will be the result. I just know what I see. You get fixes sometimes just by changing one or two relevant settings, restarting, then changing those same settings back to your normal.
    It's a common troubleshooting step for some kinds of issues.
     
  5. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #5
    Have you a font manager installed or messed with the systems fonts?
     
  6. forza69 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    forza69

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    No I haven't messed with anything. Like I said, everything was normal before the update.
     
  7. forza69 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    forza69

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    That did it! Thanks a lot man. I had only reset the SMC before, forgot about PRAM. :D
     
  8. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #9
    Glad to help! PRAM stores your default screen resolution and that might've gotten messed up during the update, so I figured it was worth a shot. :)
     

Share This Page