Updated to Yosemite, now grey lock screen at start up. please help

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by PavelT, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. PavelT macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #1
    hello i am running a late 2012 iMac. i just updated to Yosemite os. and i restarted my iMac and now at start up i get a apple loading screen then it goes to grey screen with a no trespassing type of icon. and i can't do anything. i am very worried because i need to get to my desktop to retrieve some items that i have not backed up yet. any help, much appreciated. thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      1.3 MB
      Views:
      266
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      1.6 MB
      Views:
      243
  2. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #2
    Looks like the HD isn't being recognized by the OS, due to a software or hardware problem.

    Edited to add: Try booting back into safe mode (hold shift key down while restarting) and see what happens.
     
  3. PavelT thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #3
    it seems not able to boot into safe mode...same thing happens
     
  4. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #4
    If it is a fresh install and everything is backed up, try booting into recovery and doing the install again. Maybe something got corrupted during the process. That is the best I can offer. Maybe someone else might have a better idea. Hopefully, your HD didn't die.
     
  5. PavelT thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #5
    thanks for your input. but it unfortunately was not a fresh install. it was an update. and i didn't back up a lot of vital things that were on my desktop...i just want to recover those items...
     
  6. mvleaf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #6
    Same issue with me. 2012 Mac mini..Yosemite worked fine for a day but when rebooted. Won't get past the log in screen. Tried rebooting into safe mode but no luck. Same with option key reboot
     
  7. Ravenis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    #7
    does the HD show up in Recovery > Disk Utility?
     
  8. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #8
    If either one of you guys are running SSD, give this a shot.

    "If you try to boot a Trim-enabled system with the kext-signing setting re-activated, you will be met by a gray screen with a stop sign:" < same picture in OP>

    http://www.cindori.org/trim-enabler-and-yosemite/
     
  9. mvleaf, Oct 18, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2014

    mvleaf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #9
    Ravenis - yes. I have the option between Macintosh HD or Recovery 10.10

    Or do yoi mean the disk utility option on OS X Utilities screen when I use the Recovery option. My mouse moves around but has no effect when I click on any options. I can use tab and up down buttons but enter won't work. I'm stuck!
     
  10. iceperson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #10
    This was my problem. Following the instructions under "Recovering from stop sign on boot scree" resolved it for me.
     
  11. mvleaf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #11
    It won't let me access menus or do any inputs. My pointer moves around the screen but can't execute anything. Same with my keyboard
     
  12. vraev macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #12
    Sigh of relief

    Happened to me too. I unknowingly enabled TRIM after installing yosemite. Didn't start. Had a slight panic attack...lol... My HDD has all my school stuff which I can't afford to lose. Luckily...it was fixable with the support article at the trim enabler website.
     
  13. PavelT thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #13
    wow. this article totally makes sense!. as i am using a trim enabled ssd. once i upgraded to yosemite, first thing i did was enable trim enabler. then i shut down. then when i started back up, is when i got the stop sign....i managed to just re-install yosemite, through the disk utility at start up to get back to my desktop..
     
  14. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #14
    Glad to know all is ok now.
     
  15. mvleaf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #15
    Sounds crazy, but my problem is with my trackpad. The pointer moves around, but it won't execute the "enter" function. Fits hit TJ email keyboard. I had to fire up an old Microsoft wireless USB mouse to login. Still have the problem. So now I have the trackpad and the mouse on my desk. Irritating, but i can do everything with this setup
     
  16. PavelT thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #16
    great stuff! thanks for the info. much appreciated.
     
  17. DisplacedMic macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #17
    yay! and what have we learned re always backing up before updating?;)
     

Share This Page