iPad Updating Cellular Data Number

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Geffen, Jun 2, 2013.

  1. Geffen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    How do I update the Cellular Data Number on my iPad? Can this be done somewhere in iTunes?
     
  2. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #2
    Why would you want to change that number? As far as I know, that is assigned by your carrier for their data keeping purposes, and there isn't anything the user can do with it. If for some reason you want to change it, you'll have to talk to your carrier. iTunes doesn't have anything to do with it.
     
  3. RevTEG macrumors regular

    RevTEG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #3
    I'm not sure why you would need to update the carrier number. None of our apps use that number. Even iMessages using your email or your iPhone phone number.. That's if you have an iPhone. I've own several iPads since iPad 1 and never needed my iPads carrier number.

    Can you tell us why you would need it changed? That might help us understand more and help you out.
     
  4. Geffen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    The phone number is an old cell phone number and not used, I suppose i could just get a new sim card and see if it will update the setting.
     
  5. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #5
    Again, I don't understand why you would want to change the number -- it's not like the iPad can use that number to receive phone calls or something.
     
  6. Geffen thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    Doesn't the iPad look at that number if i were to send a message?
     
  7. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #7
    Nope. It looks at the Apple ID you set up in Settings > iMessage.
     
  8. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #8
    the number is likely tied to the SIM card, just like in a phone. a new SIM should solve the issue.
     
  9. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #9
    I had to get a new SIM a few days ago. After the SIM update, the cellular number tied to my iPad did not change.
     
  10. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #10
    No, you need to contact your carrier.
     

Share This Page