iPhone Updating from JB 5.0.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jlc2ay, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. jlc2ay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    #1
    I'm looking to update from JB 5.0.1 to the most up to date stable JB currently available. Would that be version 5.1.1, and is it possible to update to this version with 6.0 being out? I have a lot of Cydia apps, and I do not want to lose them during the process. I have not saved any blobs for 5.1.1 or any other versions up to iOS6. Thanks in advance.

    ----------

    I'm running untethered not unlocked
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Would be helpfull if you mentioned what model iphone you're using.
    But either way if you dont have shsh blobs saved for 5.1.1 you can never restore that version.
    There is a tethered JB for 6.0 but that's for the iphone 4 and 3GS only.

    Also when you update firmware version you do lose all your cydia packages and everything in the process.
    Then you restore, jailbreak and reinstall all your stuff back. That's how JB's and updating firmware versions always worked and most likelly will.
    You cant update firmware version and stay JB and keep everything the way it is on your phone now.
    Somehow things will have to be synced back and packages reinstalled either one by one or by using a batch install program.
     
  3. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #3
    first check main page of Cydia, at the top it should give which SHSH or blobs cydia saved.

    without blobs for 5.1.1 you can not upgrade.

    you didn't say which idevice.

    if it is an A4 device or 3GS you can upgrade to iOS 6.01 an tether jb on that.

    on any A5+ device there is no JB for iOS 6.01, so upgrading would mean loosing the JB.

    i would just stay on 5.01 for now.
    make sure you save 6.01 blobs, us TinyUmbrella
     
  4. jlc2ay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    #4
    Sorry guys, I'm on a 4s. I've been using JB for a while, but I haven't updated to a new version, still a newbie to that. I wasn't sure how the process worked. So once I restore and install firmware, and re jail break, I will have to redo all of my jb settings right? I'll have to redownload all of my Cydia apps, and redo my springboard theme, etc? At the top of my Cydia home screen, it says, "SHSH: iOS 5.0.1, 5.0.1r1, 5.1, 5.1.1, 6.0.1."
     
  5. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #5
    check the dev team blog, under certain conditions you can restore to 5.1.1

    http://blog.iphone-dev.org

    especially # 1+2

    also once you go to 6+ you can't go back to 5, so be careful what you do
     

Share This Page